Old Oct 11, 2013, 07:34 PM
Joe_Crash
United States, MD, Gaithersburg
Joined Oct 2010
451 Posts
Discussion
10lbs sugar in a 5lb sack?

Hello -
I'm fairly new to building - I've built a few ARFs, 2 kits (short kits) and a few scratch foamies.
I got this 2m sailplane from R2 hobbies, for a very decent price - under $100, with flaps and ailerons, (built up) and a fairly nice for the price fiberglass fuse. I was going to power it with a Hacker A20, but there is only one way to mount that motor, and it's with the 3 wires coming out on the firewall side.
My problem is it won't fit! The end of my fuse is 30mm, while the Hacker, taking into account, is 35mm.
Should I take the fairly drastic (for me - I know it wouldn't even be a speedbump for most of you guys) step of cutting it back from the fuse end by a few mm? I don't have any other motors, excepting one, that will fit, and it's from a heli, with a Kv of 3500 - which I think would be way too much turning an 11" prop (or even an 8") without high current draw. I've thought of planetary gearboxes, but haven't seemed to be able to find one.

Any advise you can give me would be very much appreciated!

(even if I bend the 3 wires to the max it's 32mm, and the wires would be against the motor housing, and I think that would burn through them in a very short amount of time.)
joe_crash is offline Find More Posts by joe_crash
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by joe_crash; Oct 11, 2013 at 07:47 PM. Reason: typo
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 11, 2013, 08:13 PM
United States, MA, Waltham
Joined Dec 2001
7,130 Posts
Does the motor sit behind the firewall with the prop shaft coming through?