SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 02, 2013, 01:26 AM
They Call him Dead!
YellowJacketsRC's Avatar
United States, SC, Pawleys Island
Joined Jul 2003
7,012 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyrus_ View Post
Awesome thank you VERY much guys. I love RCG!

One last question (I am sure there will be more once I start the build), are there any issues using the recommended Tourque motor with a Castle ESC. I have a ICE 100 ESC that I would like to use, plus they are very easy to program. Any recos on setup for the Tourque motor and Castle ESC?

Thanks again.
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...33887&page=222

These guys will answer that question with more info than you will need. Great resource!
YellowJacketsRC is offline Find More Posts by YellowJacketsRC
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 02, 2013, 01:27 AM
They Call him Dead!
YellowJacketsRC's Avatar
United States, SC, Pawleys Island
Joined Jul 2003
7,012 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by long leng View Post

also replaced the kontronik with the torque500mk2......the t500 had difficulties to keep on with synchronisation and the esc caught fire.
have a talon90 on the way.....anybody knows how they play together?
and...isnt it about time ef comes with a hv airboss??
What ESC were you using? What prop?
YellowJacketsRC is offline Find More Posts by YellowJacketsRC
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 07:07 AM
zürich
Joined Jun 2008
1,074 Posts
that was the kontronik koby90 and a vox 16x7

spoke with kontronik already and will send the esc and motor to them
long leng is offline Find More Posts by long leng
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 07:11 AM
Grumpy old git.. Who me?
JetPlaneFlyer's Avatar
Aberdeen
Joined Mar 2006
11,974 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by long leng View Post
the t500 had difficulties to keep on with synchronisation and the esc caught fire.
have a talon90 on the way.....anybody knows how they play together?
and...isnt it about time ef comes with a hv airboss??

If it was losing synch during rapid opening of the throttle then higher ESC timing often helps. Failing that a lighter and/or smaller prop. Failing that another ESC....

If you get the squeal sound that indicates loss of synch you should power down right away to avoid burning stuff up.
JetPlaneFlyer is online now Find More Posts by JetPlaneFlyer
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 07:45 AM
zürich
Joined Jun 2008
1,074 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetPlaneFlyer View Post
If it was losing synch during rapid opening of the throttle then higher ESC timing often helps. Failing that a lighter and/or smaller prop. Failing that another ESC....

If you get the squeal sound that indicates loss of synch you should power down right away to avoid burning stuff up.
you are 100% right, especially to power down right away.
i was like come on, come on, come on you do it-----FIRE
long leng is offline Find More Posts by long leng
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 11:24 AM
Registered User
Toronto, Canada
Joined Jan 2011
82 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dead View Post
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...33887&page=222

These guys will answer that question with more info than you will need. Great resource!
Perfect. Thanks for the link
Cyrus_ is offline Find More Posts by Cyrus_
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 02:59 PM
Yin & Yang
Liberty10's Avatar
United States, VA, Sterling
Joined Jul 2011
4,277 Posts
Can anyone tell me if Hitec and Horizon Hobby will sign for a package shipped to them for service?
Liberty10 is offline Find More Posts by Liberty10
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 03, 2013, 08:57 AM
doh!
ryan_m's Avatar
United States, AR, Little Rock
Joined May 2006
4,439 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyrus_ View Post
Awesome thank you VERY much guys. I love RCG!

One last question (I am sure there will be more once I start the build), are there any issues using the recommended Tourque motor with a Castle ESC. I have a ICE 100 ESC that I would like to use, plus they are very easy to program. Any recos on setup for the Tourque motor and Castle ESC?

Thanks again.
Ice 100 will be fine. I use medium timing, pwm of 8, I usually bump the motor start power up to about 3/4 of the max on the custom scale, low voltage cutoff to 4.0 volts - not 4.0/cell, but 4.0 period. Basically attempting to disable it.
ryan_m is offline Find More Posts by ryan_m
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 03, 2013, 09:14 AM
Registered User
Denmark, Central Denmark Region, Aarhus
Joined Mar 2012
11 Posts
.

Can anyone guide me alittle with my CG issues?

Manual says 4,5-5 inches equal to European 12,7 cm at maximum CG.

( Measured from front inner area of the wing and backwards )

My setup:
hacker Basic 70
Hacker A50-16s ( 370 gr )
Spinner
4 X 5245MG
16X10 APC E prop

Nano tech 4000 mah 6S - 690 gr

When I put the battery as far back as the plane allows, Im no where near the recommended CG.


Any tips ?
mikkel.k is offline Find More Posts by mikkel.k
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 03, 2013, 10:11 AM
doh!
ryan_m's Avatar
United States, AR, Little Rock
Joined May 2006
4,439 Posts
use a lighter battery! I am barely at the CG with a 3300. They are 540 grams. So you are about 150 grams heavier than what I'm using.
ryan_m is offline Find More Posts by ryan_m
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 03, 2013, 10:21 AM
Team Twisted!
hone1er's Avatar
United States, CA, Hercules
Joined Dec 2011
4,303 Posts
A heavier tail wheel and a pilot figure will both move the CG back
hone1er is offline Find More Posts by hone1er
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 03, 2013, 10:32 AM
TEAM EXTREME FLIGHT
Doc Austin's Avatar
USA, FL, Largo
Joined Dec 2005
17,204 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikkel.k View Post
Can anyone guide me alittle with my CG issues?


Nano tech 4000 mah 6S - 690 gr
These 60" EXPs were designed for 6s 3300 packs.

Quote:
When I put the battery as far back as the plane allows, Im no where near the recommended CG.
I'm running 6s 3850 packs and have mine all the way back plus a 1/2 ounce of flat lead bolted to the tailwheel bracket. I'm going to change that out for a Dubro aluminum hubbed wheel, but I need to get a new tailwheel wire. I already cut the axle part too short for the wider wheel.

Quote:
Any tips ?
Tape weight to the fuse long enougn to eatablish how much you need, then use the tailwheel bracket as a jig to drill holes in fla mag wheel weight. Then you just use a longer screw to attack the bracket and weight together. I'll see if i can dig up a photo.


EDIT: This photo is of my 60" Extra EXP. As you can see, I just bolted the lead right on with the bracket using the mounting screws to hold everything on. Also notice the heavier Dubro Tailwheel. Good thing we had this discussion because I changed out the tailwheel and forgot to remove the weight!

I've been running a little lead on the tail for a while simply because I kept forgetting to get a heavy tailwheel whenever I would go to the LHS.
Doc Austin is offline Find More Posts by Doc Austin
Last edited by Doc Austin; Feb 03, 2013 at 10:46 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 03, 2013, 10:41 AM
Yin & Yang
Liberty10's Avatar
United States, VA, Sterling
Joined Jul 2011
4,277 Posts
That's a much heavier motor than the recommended Torque. You should put the ESC as far back into the fuse as possible. You will also likely need weight in the tail. You could go with a separate rx lipo and put it back as far as you can under the canopy but may still need a little tail weight. EF recommended also for the standard setup to use a metal hub tail wheel instead of the stock one. Not to mention that battery is extremely heavy. I have 3300s that weight 455g. and even the gens 4000s weight 650g
Liberty10 is offline Find More Posts by Liberty10
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 03, 2013, 10:55 AM
Registered User
Denmark, Central Denmark Region, Aarhus
Joined Mar 2012
11 Posts
Thanks, will order a new bunch of 5S 3600 mah batteries from Wellpower, their at 470 gr
mikkel.k is offline Find More Posts by mikkel.k
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 03, 2013, 11:08 AM
They Call him Dead!
YellowJacketsRC's Avatar
United States, SC, Pawleys Island
Joined Jul 2003
7,012 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikkel.k View Post

My setup:
hacker Basic 70
Hacker A50-16s ( 370 gr )
Spinner
4 X 5245MG
16X10 APC E prop

Nano tech 4000 mah 6S - 690 gr
I think ou are running a risk of burning up that Hacker Basic 70. A 16 x 10 on that motor is going to pull Well over 80 amps I believe
YellowJacketsRC is offline Find More Posts by YellowJacketsRC
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Build Log Official- Extreme Flight 60" Extra 300 EXP Build thread Ducati Mechanic 3D Flying 6252 Nov 18, 2014 07:39 PM
Sold 48" Extreme Flight MXS EXP Ducati Mechanic Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 16 May 30, 2012 07:03 PM
Sold Extreme Flight MXS EXP FASTALJR Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 11 May 18, 2012 07:00 PM
Found Looking for an extreme flight Mxs exp ThatGuy123 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 2 Feb 24, 2012 09:34 PM