Old Jul 05, 2010, 01:23 AM
Scale Builder
United States, AZ, Litchfield Park
Joined Jul 2002
2,574 Posts
Discussion
EDF newbie dreaming of D-558

G'day gents,

I'm a die hard warbird fanatic, mainly second world war stuff, and I've never had any interest whatsoever in building jets. However, I've recently been bitten very hard by the "Skystreak" bug and am contemplating drawing one up. I've got lots of design experience and the airframe presents no challenges but the power system is a horse of a different color. I've got very little experience with electrics and none with ducted fans! I'd like the airplane to be large enough to carry the weight of flaps and retracts as well as a glassed/painted finish. If I may I'd like to run some rough numbers by you guys and get some input from those with a bit more experience than myself. I'm thinking 1/8 scale which gives a total length of ~51 inches and a span of 37.5 inches with roughly 350 square inches of area. There is room to increase the span/area a bit without detracting from the scale appearance as well. These are just preliminary number and are in no way set in stone. My questions are thus:

1. Does this sound feasible for a 90mm fan unit to haul around? If so, what kind of weight should I be shooting for? (Other than as little as possible!)

2. At this scale I don't think there will be any issues with inlet/outlet ducting but whereabouts would be the ideal location for the fan unit from an efficiency standpoint? As you can see the fuselage is your basic tube so I can probably situate the fan unit well aft if that is the best place and maintain the CG with proper placement of the radio equipment/batteries.

Feel free to offer any and all advice you will regarding the project as I'm open to all ideas. Looking forward to your replies!

Chad Veich

Chad Veich is offline Find More Posts by Chad Veich
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 05, 2010, 07:51 AM
Da' Cajun
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Joined Jun 2009
2,892 Posts