Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
This thread is privately moderated by billpa, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Old Mar 15, 2013, 11:48 AM
Rhinebeck CD-99,00,01,02
Tom Smith's Avatar
New Bern, NC
Joined Mar 2001
3,012 Posts
Bob Dunlop

Which USB cable is the one we need for the Guardian. Some say 4 pin, 5 pin, 7 pin. I'm lost. Might never need it for my Autogyro in 2D mode but if this Guardian works as well as they say, I might try messing with a little foamy 3D model and the USB connector sure would come in handy. I tried a 3D foamy years ago when the craze first caught on and was able to hover for about 20 seconds before getting all screwed up. Tom
Tom Smith is offline Find More Posts by Tom Smith
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 15, 2013, 12:50 PM
Fokker,I didn't even kiss her
Bob Dunlop's Avatar
United States, VA, Fredericksburg
Joined Apr 2011
1,271 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Smith View Post
Which USB cable is the one we need for the Guardian. Some say 4 pin, 5 pin, 7 pin. I'm lost. Might never need it for my Autogyro in 2D mode but if this Guardian works as well as they say, I might try messing with a little foamy 3D model and the USB connector sure would come in handy. I tried a 3D foamy years ago when the craze first caught on and was able to hover for about 20 seconds before getting all screwed up. Tom
Open up the link again...anyone of the pictured on that page .
USB 2.0 - Cables - Micro- B type
http://www.monoprice.com/products/su...er_accessories
I bought a few 5137's
And a couple 5435 male to female extensions
With shipping it was about $15.00 for 7 or 8 cables LOL
Bob Dunlop is online now Find More Posts by Bob Dunlop
Last edited by Bob Dunlop; Mar 15, 2013 at 01:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2013, 02:36 PM
Rhinebeck CD-99,00,01,02
Tom Smith's Avatar
New Bern, NC
Joined Mar 2001
3,012 Posts
Thank you.
Tom Smith is offline Find More Posts by Tom Smith
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2013, 02:39 PM
Sopwith Camel's Cousin
Between my tx and crashed aircraft
Joined Mar 2006
3,792 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dirtybird View Post
Ouch! I paid $25 for mine at Radio Shack
One thing about cables. I find that in-store purchases seem a lot more expensive than purchases on mainly on-line places.

A side note on the USB cables: micro-USB, mini-USB and USB are all different (I now have all 3 types).
flying-llama is offline Find More Posts by flying-llama
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2013, 02:43 PM
Rhinebeck CD-99,00,01,02
Tom Smith's Avatar
New Bern, NC
Joined Mar 2001
3,012 Posts
Are the gold plated ones and better for this application. They are still dirt cheap. I looked today in WallyWorld and a 3' USB mini was $10.
Tom Smith is offline Find More Posts by Tom Smith
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2013, 03:05 PM
Fokker,I didn't even kiss her
Bob Dunlop's Avatar
United States, VA, Fredericksburg
Joined Apr 2011
1,271 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Smith View Post
Are the gold plated ones and better for this application. They are still dirt cheap. I looked today in WallyWorld and a 3' USB mini was $10.
Gold plating looks cool!
But...does nothing for you unless corrosion is going to be an issue.
Back in WW2 the Military started to gold plate connections because of corrosion...but we really only do it these days for marketing and Bling
Bob Dunlop is online now Find More Posts by Bob Dunlop
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2013, 03:14 PM
Rhinebeck CD-99,00,01,02
Tom Smith's Avatar
New Bern, NC
Joined Mar 2001
3,012 Posts
I know gold plated connectors make better contact because they don't oxidize but is this gold coating on the outside or on the pins inside? I live on the Neuse River (brackish water) which empties into the Pamlico Sound (salt water) about 10 miles east of here which empties into the Atlantic Ocean. It's salty around here, but this thing will remain in my house. .
Tom Smith is offline Find More Posts by Tom Smith
Last edited by Tom Smith; Mar 15, 2013 at 03:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2013, 03:31 PM
Fokker,I didn't even kiss her
Bob Dunlop's Avatar
United States, VA, Fredericksburg
Joined Apr 2011
1,271 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Smith View Post
I know gold plated connectors make better contact because they don't oxidize but is this just coating the offer on the outside or on the pins inside? I live on the Neuse River (brackish water) which empties into the Pamlico Sound (salt water) about 10 miles east of here which empties into the Atlantic Ocean. It's salty around here, but this thing will remain in my house. .
Usually sleeve and pins are plated in gold....unless you are plugging something in and leaving it plugged in for extended periods of time like RCA plugs on the back of your stereo reciever there is really no benefit ...unless its going to be out in the elements.
Bob Dunlop is online now Find More Posts by Bob Dunlop
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2013, 03:35 PM
Rhinebeck CD-99,00,01,02
Tom Smith's Avatar
New Bern, NC
Joined Mar 2001
3,012 Posts
OK, I'll just order the plain 1.5' one like you did Bob. That should suffice. Thanks, Tom
Tom Smith is offline Find More Posts by Tom Smith
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2013, 03:45 PM
Fokker,I didn't even kiss her
Bob Dunlop's Avatar
United States, VA, Fredericksburg
Joined Apr 2011
1,271 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Smith View Post
OK, I'll just order the plain 1.5' one like you did Bob. That should suffice. Thanks, Tom
They will do the same as the gold plated ones..just less Bling
The USB port on your computer is probably not gold plated...I know mine aren't so really no benefit
Bob Dunlop is online now Find More Posts by Bob Dunlop
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2013, 10:28 PM
MichiganRCflyer
bunkx9's Avatar
United States, MI, Portage
Joined Nov 2012
128 Posts
Is there any particular reason why my G's LED light stays on with one position on its mode switch then blinks constantly when I flip the switch down? I can't seem to get it to switch from 3d to 2d with my dedicated Mod switch on my Tx.
bunkx9 is offline Find More Posts by bunkx9
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2013, 10:45 PM
Registered User
ricoalonso's Avatar
USA, KS, Derby
Joined Mar 2003
1,474 Posts
3D is solid light ON while 2D is contant blink. Light OFF means stabilization is OFF.
ricoalonso is online now Find More Posts by ricoalonso
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2013, 10:50 PM
MichiganRCflyer
bunkx9's Avatar
United States, MI, Portage
Joined Nov 2012
128 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ricoalonso View Post
3D is solid light ON while 2D is contant blink.
So it is working properly? If so, someone needs to tell the author of the instruction manual to apologize to me. Lol.

I thought constant blinking was the "error" signal. Cuz my blinks are rapid, nonstop blinks. Not slow 1sec. Blinks.
bunkx9 is offline Find More Posts by bunkx9
Last edited by bunkx9; Mar 15, 2013 at 10:50 PM. Reason: Spelling corrections
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2013, 10:53 PM
Registered User
ricoalonso's Avatar
USA, KS, Derby
Joined Mar 2003
1,474 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bunkx9 View Post
So it is working properly? If so, someone needs to tell the author of the instruction manual to apologize to me. Lol.

I thought constant blinking was the "error" signal. Cuz my blinks are rapid, nonstop blinks. Not slow 1sec. Blinks.
If the blink is fast, then you may be correct and encountering an error, as in the manual.

The error blinks are actually fast (count for error number) but it will be preceded by 4 blinks then a pause then number of fast blinks for the error number.

This is how 2D Mode Blinks...
Guardian2DModeBlink (0 min 11 sec)
ricoalonso is online now Find More Posts by ricoalonso
Last edited by ricoalonso; Mar 15, 2013 at 11:29 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2013, 11:46 PM
MichiganRCflyer
bunkx9's Avatar
United States, MI, Portage
Joined Nov 2012
128 Posts
I think I'm ok. Here's a vid of mine.

Guardian 2D/3D in HZ Super Cub (0 min 19 sec)
bunkx9 is offline Find More Posts by bunkx9
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Can I control Guardian stabilizer with DX6i? njwxyz Eagle Tree Systems 9 Jun 02, 2014 12:17 PM
Discussion GPS 2D Plots incomplete, 3D OK jackerbes Eagle Tree Systems 1 Oct 23, 2011 09:42 PM
Discussion Premier 1st generation, Gen 2 Vector unit, 2D or 3D motor unit lanternfly RC Kites 0 Oct 05, 2011 09:42 PM
Data 2d or 3d wing ribs? Marty7n Beginner Training Area (Aircraft-Electric) 56 Sep 22, 2011 04:06 PM
Discussion 3View to 3D to 2d techasist CAD/CAM 0 Mar 27, 2011 12:19 AM