Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old May 05, 2014, 03:00 PM
...one of my nicer landings
United States, WA, Walla Walla
Joined Mar 2014
232 Posts
Discussion
A Noob guide to the Raptor PNP - @ SMM

I thought it might be helpful for beginners, noobs like me, to share what I have learned with my first electric glider build and first high g landing.

If you are a beginner and are considering the cute, relatively cheap Raptor like I purchased from Skip Miller Models:

http://www.skipmillermodels.com/4Ch_...v_p/raptor.htm

THINK about it and do some homework FIRST!

This forum has a WEALTH of good advice and knowledge if you seek it out. I am a noob. Consider that as you read this.

* First of all, IMHO, the 6 ch FH Raptor, no matter how inexpensive, is not a good beginner plane. No matter how benign the float characteristics are you will probably need an able instructor at your side if this is your first electric FH glider. Native intelligence doesn't necessarily mean you can translate that immediately into good pilot skill. It might on a Radian with some previous experience, but... the Raptor? You decide.

* Consider not taking the advice of those selling you something without doing the homework. Trust, but verify in advance of a purchase.

A couple good starting points outside this forum as examples IMHO are:

http://www.radiocontrolinfo.com/RCca...Calculator.php

http://www.ecalc.ch/motorcalc.php?ecalc&lang=en

You can plug in some of the motor, prop, ESC, battery, elevation, pressure, etc. parameters into a simple grid at eCalc, for instance, and see if what is recommended (by anyone) is prudent to buy. For example, and it will be interesting to see if it changes soon, SMM lists as power options:

"Recommended Motors:

Hacker A20-12XL, SB-55 ESC, 12 x 8 prop

Hacker A20-8XL, SB-55 ESC, 9 x 5 prop"