Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Jul 16, 2014, 10:02 AM
United States, IL, Champaign
Joined Aug 2012
899 Posts
Question
Power Board Battery Charging

I am new to using power distribution boards and haven't figured out the easiest way to charge batteries in the plane. There are several different brands and distributors of these redundant power boards.

How can you charge the redundant Rx batteries if they are buried under a tail hatch for balance without having to keep unplugging connectors and causing them to wear? Do you run separate on/off switches and charging jacks for each battery? Maybe use 3 switch/jack sets, 2 for Rx batteries and 1 for gas electronic ignition battery?
jwellsy is online now Find More Posts by jwellsy
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 17, 2014, 12:13 AM
Joined Dec 2013
98 Posts
Hello jwellsy... I run two power busses for the servos with redundant batter packs... two receivers with their own redundant batter packs... the way I have mine setup, the servos have 2 NMh packs with their own switches... each switch has a charge port to plug into, so in the off position the packs can be charged through the charge port on the switch... both battery packs feed both servo busses simultaneously... if one pak or switch goes bad for whatever the reason, the other pack will continues to provide power.

The same with the receivers packs, there are two redundant A123 packs with their own switches and charge ports... both packs provide power to the two receivers simultaneously, if one pak or switch goes bad, the other will provide power.

I also have (will have) a separate battery pack for the ignition system with a transmitter controlled kill switch.