HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 21, 2012, 05:21 PM
United Kingdom, London
Joined Oct 2012
76 Posts
Discussion
Fresh beginner seeking some advice

First of all, hi to everybody.
I found this forum by looking for some beginner information on Google. This seems like a great community!

I never tried flying a heli or plane so I'm a really fresh beginner (or noob, whatever you want to call it ).

I have been very active in the Flight Simulator community. I use MS Flight Simulator X and played hours online. Even did some ATC for the online network so I am quite hooked to the flying hobby.

I have been playing a few simulators on my android phone and bought ClearView. It's a great simulator, not expensive so ideal to get a basic feel for the hobby.
Currently I use my xbox 360 controller as controller which seems to work fine.

Now I want to get my hands on the real thing. I did some research, read through the beginners topic in this forum but most of the information is years old so I'm quite confused what is up to date...

First of all... What is a good entry level heli to fly indoors so I can practice from my sofa? I see heli's going from +/- 10 to 100+ (yes I do live in the UK).

I can imagine it is quite important to get a proper one so you don't get disappointed an drop the hobby.
One of my other passions is astronomy and there it is really important to get proper beginners material. I saw lots of people losing interest of the hobby because of bad or to difficult stuff.

I was thinking on spending +/- 50 for my first one. Is this reasonable or do I have to increase budget?

So what should I get so I will get hooked to flying RC heli's?

My plan is to invest in RealFlight 6 so I can practice much more and use a proper transmitter with it.

I also wanted to ask if a 4 channel heli is a bad decision for beginners? Should I go for a 3 channel that stabilizes easier?