HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Apr 17, 2014, 12:45 PM
Oh no, not again!
United States, LA, Carencro
Joined Dec 2005
5,212 Posts
Question
Fan Placement

At the moment, this is a hypothetical. I am an intermediate level builder and flier, but have just started EDFs. I have a Dynam Me 262 that I am getting really attached to. I would like to scratch build another jet.

Most of the 50's & 60's era jets had quite long inlet ducting. In following several build threads of things like Avro Vulcans, the fan placement seems rather arbitrary. Some put them at the front of the inlet for c/g purposes, some have them right at the back for a short exhaust duct. In the main, models seem to place the fans somewhere close to the c/g.

If we ignore c/g issues, is there an optimum place to site the fan? My thinking is that since the exhaust air is accelerated, that duct should be kept short to minimize energy losses. On the other hand, I notice that even with podded EDFs there is some length of exhaust ducting (to stabilize the efflux vortex?) I guess I am wondering if there is a formula, or ratio, or even a solid rationale for where to place the fan in a build like the Vulcan?

Appreciate any input.

Regards,
Jeff
jhspring is offline Find More Posts by jhspring
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 17, 2014, 01:13 PM
upland CA
Joined Dec 2004
7,169 Posts
I find that its easy for the fan to push air out the long tail pipe..Hard to suck into a long intake..Bigger losses..but still getting the CG is key. the other problem is you can snake a intake around things in the fuse but that doesnt work with exhaust
turbonut is online now Find More Posts by turbonut
Old Apr 17, 2014, 02:24 PM
Joined Nov 2011
1,103 Posts

my best bet is right in the middle of the inlet and outlet...
why?
less trouble with wiring from motor - esc, from esc - battery ....

flylow2011 is offline Find More Posts by flylow2011
Old Apr 17, 2014, 05:02 PM
deltas are cool
Tehachapi ,CA.
Joined Apr 2006