HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Dec 26, 2013, 01:47 AM
Joined Dec 2013
13 Posts
Discussion
Recommendation for inexpensive oscilloscope

Looking for something that wont break the bank but effective for light use. Specifically want to test generators output waveform. I've been getting the run around from trying to figure out if certain inverter generators are true sine wave or MSW.
My knowledge of oscilloscopes are limited and I am a beginner to play with oscilloscopes, but from what I've read in order to read right at the AC outlet I need a 10X probe
I was thinking this?
http://www.sainsmart.com/tools-equipments/oscilloscope-dso/sainsmart-dds-120-20m-50m-s-virtual-oscilloscope-silver.html
unionkind is offline Find More Posts by unionkind
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 26, 2013, 07:11 AM
United States, ID
Joined Sep 2011
417 Posts
Never used one of those. But the probes look like the standard 1x, 10x selectable types.

A good scope can easily cost $1,500+, so it's probably worth trying a cheapie first. You'll probably end up finding a use for it even if you end up getting a better scope in the end.

-Jake
jakestew is offline Find More Posts by jakestew
Old Dec 26, 2013, 11:47 AM
"MAYONNAISE"
Le Treport, France
Joined Jun 2004
1,396 Posts
depends on IF you want " to see something " or if you want to measure ...

I do not think you can tell if a wave form is correct with such low bandpass devices.

but you roughly can estimate if it's a triangle, sinus ... or " patatoïd " ( french word for ... undescribable )
square waves need very little osc. rising times to be truly measured ... even @ low frequencies.

as you describe it ... a 50$ Ebay osc. with the right input attenuator could give you the answer.

also note " pure sinus " inverters always show it ... on the box !!! ( also on the price sticker )
" quasi sinus " mean trapezoidal wave ...
and nothing stated mean square.

no need to scope anything !!!

Alain