SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jun 18, 2012, 01:56 PM
Registered User
ReneNL's Avatar
Joined Jun 2012
42 Posts
Help!
Diversity loves only one channel

Hope someone can help me out.

On the Eagle Eyes, on channel one I have a Helical and on channel two a Cloverleaf.

The cloverleaf is the big favorite of my Eagle Eye. Even if I'm on thousand meters or more and right in the line of the helical... I get the (poor) output of the cloverleaf.

ONLY if the signal of the cloverleaf is allmost gone, the helical takes over. As soon as cloverleaf gives a little bit of signal, it takes over.

Note that my perfect image from the helical have to make place for the lousy and noisy image of cloverleaf.

I change the settings allready. AV in 1 with Diversity to AV in 2 with Diversity.
Also did I make the eagle more sensitive. Changed it from standard 5 to 8. No solution yet.

Anybody?
ReneNL is offline Find More Posts by ReneNL
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 18, 2012, 11:38 PM
billpa's Avatar
Joined Nov 2003
4,936 Posts
Hi Rene,

Would you be able to post a short video showing when the switch occurs inappropriately from the helical to the cloverleaf?
billpa is offline Find More Posts by billpa
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2012, 02:40 PM
Registered User
ReneNL's Avatar
Joined Jun 2012
42 Posts
Hello billpa,

Today I made some testflights with this in mind. I will show you tomorrow.
Also changed the two receivers... made no difference

Thanks for tour reaction,
René

Quote:
Originally Posted by billpa View Post
Hi Rene,

Would you be able to post a short video showing when the switch occurs inappropriately from the helical to the cloverleaf?
ReneNL is offline Find More Posts by ReneNL
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2012, 05:14 PM
Registered User
ReneNL's Avatar
Joined Jun 2012
42 Posts
@billpa

Here it is;
https://vimeo.com/44345205

The last 10 seconds are 'the best'.
Sorry about the OSD

Hope this helps,

René
ReneNL is offline Find More Posts by ReneNL
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2012, 10:07 PM
billpa's Avatar
Joined Nov 2003
4,936 Posts
Thanks, Rene. The EE should not be switching, I agree. Can you let me know the brand of receivers you are using?

Also, would it be possible for you to run an experiment with a laptop connected to the EE? That way, we can capture some diagnostics in real time from it (assuming we are not able to reproduce it here).
billpa is offline Find More Posts by billpa
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2012, 02:18 AM
Registered User
ReneNL's Avatar
Joined Jun 2012
42 Posts
Watching the video it looks not that bat I have to admit. Using my videogoggles it's another thing.

I have two RC305 receivers on 5.8 like http://www.rc4y.com/bev-58ghz-pocket...iver-p-24.html

And yes, a laptop is no problem. I guess you have some test software for Windows? Don't think I can do anything but uploading new firmware with the standard software since I do not own your OSD yet.

Thanks for quick and great support,

René
ReneNL is offline Find More Posts by ReneNL
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2012, 04:01 PM
billpa's Avatar
Joined Nov 2003
4,936 Posts
Hi Rene, we have one other report of switching (actually with similar antenna styles) using those receivers, so we are going to order those. Also, would you be able to send me links to the transmitter and antennas you are using? That way, we can have the exact setup.
billpa is offline Find More Posts by billpa
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2012, 04:47 PM
Registered User
ReneNL's Avatar
Joined Jun 2012
42 Posts
Bello billpa,
Strange. I did more tests. With the stock antenna on one receiver. Same.
Also tried all 8 channels. Same
Is there more to try out?

Transmitter: http://www.foxtechfpv.com/58g-400mw-...ter-p-544.html
Cloverleaf set: http://www.readymaderc.com/store/ind...roducts_id=550
This helical: http://www.readymaderc.com/store/ind...roducts_id=936

Hope this will be any help.

René
ReneNL is offline Find More Posts by ReneNL
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2012, 04:57 PM
Registered User
ReneNL's Avatar
Joined Jun 2012
42 Posts
I forgot, did one more test.
Started wih 9V on the transmitter, up to 15V with steps off 1V. No result.

Tomorrow I will do the same with the receivers. You never know.

René
ReneNL is offline Find More Posts by ReneNL
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2012, 12:08 PM
billpa's Avatar
Joined Nov 2003
4,936 Posts
Thanks, Rene. This is looking like a compatibility problem with this model of receiver (which we can probably address in firmware). Can you confirm you are seeing the switching issue regardless of the type of antenna?
billpa is offline Find More Posts by billpa
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2012, 03:19 PM
Registered User
ReneNL's Avatar
Joined Jun 2012
42 Posts
Hello again. Yep, on the receiver side I did tests with stock and no antenna's.

I can try some older firmware just to test if the problems were allready there.
Can you give me some links to different versions?

Is there anything else I can do?

Since so many people have exactly these type 'Chinese' receivers and I guess a lot with the
Eagle Eye, it's hard to believe they have all the same problem without asking on internet.
I took Google for hours and did not find any topic of this problem. Strange...

So, let me test real old firmware. Hope I can help you any furder.

René
ReneNL is offline Find More Posts by ReneNL
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2012, 04:33 PM
Registered User
ReneNL's Avatar
Joined Jun 2012
42 Posts
Billpa, read this please:
http://fpvlab.com/forums/archive/index.php/t-4200.html?

If I have enough standard antenna's, I try the stock ones on the receivers AND transmitter.
That I have not done. Just to be sure...

René
ReneNL is offline Find More Posts by ReneNL
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2012, 12:37 PM
billpa's Avatar
Joined Nov 2003
4,936 Posts
Hi Rene, I've seen one other problem report with the this receiver and diversity switching (on the OSD Pro thread).

I've ordered the two receivers and transmitter, and we'll check it out here once they arrive!

I doubt if the issue will be affected by moving to a prior EE firmware, but if you'd like to try, I'd recommend trying our release version from the website (assuming you are using our beta version now).
billpa is offline Find More Posts by billpa
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2012, 02:35 PM
Registered User
ReneNL's Avatar
Joined Jun 2012
42 Posts
Sounds good! Thanks for taking this serious.
Today I did 12 testflights with all possible combinations
of antenna's including the stock antenna on the transmitter,
the stock antenna on the receiver and a cheap linear patch antenna.
EVERY combination the Eagle Eye had the same problem.

I think you are correct that there must be a problem between the combi
of Eagle Eye and these receivers.

Hope you find a solution, good luck!

René
ReneNL is offline Find More Posts by ReneNL
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2012, 04:42 PM
Registered User
ReneNL's Avatar
Joined Jun 2012
42 Posts
Update: did download the beta-software and installed the firmware update. No luck.
Used a DC converter to bring the voltage of the receivers and Eagle Tree back to 9V. No luck.

René
ReneNL is offline Find More Posts by ReneNL
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion help adding a potentiometer on one channel.. joy4u Radios 6 Apr 05, 2012 08:51 AM
Discussion Gifts for the Loved one. blueangeljetgirl Electric Warbirds 11 Jan 12, 2012 10:54 PM
Discussion 7 Billion people! Goat, you're gonna love this one. Mr. Wiz Life, The Universe, and Politics 15 Oct 27, 2011 04:23 AM
Poll 2 Servos on One or Two Channels ? Hossinarizona Radios 2 Oct 09, 2011 10:28 PM