HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jul 08, 2014, 04:44 AM
Registered User
SjaakZwart's Avatar
Joined Oct 2012
27 Posts
Nice! What gimbal are you using and how did you mounted it on the frame?
SjaakZwart is online now Find More Posts by SjaakZwart
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 08, 2014, 04:46 AM
flitelab's Avatar
Canada, NS, Halifax
Joined Feb 2010
6,924 Posts
Looks to be the DYS gimbal.
flitelab is offline Find More Posts by flitelab
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 08, 2014, 05:10 AM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2014
18 Posts
thats right, itīs a 2-axis DYS gimbal. Wouldnt recommend that one, poor quality & poor enginering. I ziptied a thin plate to the landing gear, drilled four holes in that one & screwed the gimbal dampening system to the plate.
johan_l is offline Find More Posts by johan_l
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 08, 2014, 09:18 PM
Registered User
Joined May 2013
91 Posts
How does the video look from the DYS?
Cameraj is online now Find More Posts by Cameraj
Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 12:24 AM
Registered User
Av8Chuck's Avatar
USA, CA, Thousand Oaks
Joined Feb 2010
1,747 Posts
Jakub, any word on the 3-Axis Gimbal?
Av8Chuck is offline Find More Posts by Av8Chuck
Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 06:00 AM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2014
18 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cameraj View Post
How does the video look from the DYS?
A bit too early to say, havent balanced motors/propellers yet & still playing around wih PID settings. Not impressed by video quality from this gimbal so far, that is for sure.
johan_l is offline Find More Posts by johan_l
Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 06:03 AM
flitelab's Avatar
Canada, NS, Halifax
Joined Feb 2010
6,924 Posts
It's not a great gimbal (the DYS), I gave up on it after days of testing. I'm sure it can be made to work but adjustments on it are difficult.
flitelab is offline Find More Posts by flitelab
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 03:10 PM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2013
35 Posts
X8 questions

I'm planning on building an X8 and I like the spec of the 25mm booms on the pro model here.

Given the following:
I will be using bullet connectors on the PDB.
I will probably use a grousehousetechnologies gimbal with landing legs that rotate or perhaps a simple 2 axis cheap servo gimbal for stills.

Questions:
- Using the folding frame requires loosening 24 bolts ?

- Using the non-folding frame requires loosening 12 bolts to remove 2 arms, giving a similar compactness for transport ?

- I don't see an option to add a rail mount system for standard gimbals and batteries, or am I missing something ?

I don't want to mount my batteries above the FC on the top of the frame.

thanks
cjyoyogi is online now Find More Posts by cjyoyogi
Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 05:27 PM
Registered User
Av8Chuck's Avatar
USA, CA, Thousand Oaks
Joined Feb 2010
1,747 Posts
I'm trying to figure out the same sorts of things so take my advice with a grain of salt.

Part of the decision on the size of booms is based on prop size and how far apart do you want them. I've noticed a lot of the larger MR's with 18"+ props and low KV motors are really increasing the length of the booms and spreading the props out significantly. There's been a trend of these larger MR's toilet bowling and crashing with a lot of people blaming the A2. Although I have no love for DJI I do think many of these MR's are being built by people who are simply using eCalc to figure out the thrust and efficiency with little regard for good MR design.

One of the problems with removing the booms for portability is the requirement to get the props perfectly aligned, you could certainly notch the carbon fiber tube so that it goes back in correctly but you might be surprised at how difficult that might be and what a difference it makes to your stability if your off just a little. So its not really just about the number of bolts.

You should mount your batteries wherever they need to be for the best COG. If you have a 3-axis gimbal and a heavier camera like a DSLR then you'd probably get the best COG with the batteries on top.
Av8Chuck is offline Find More Posts by Av8Chuck
Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 06:02 PM
flitelab's Avatar
Canada, NS, Halifax
Joined Feb 2010
6,924 Posts
I mount my lipos on top, with retracts and a gimbal there aren't many other options.

Images attached...
flitelab is offline Find More Posts by flitelab
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Today, 01:24 AM
Jakub J's Avatar
Krakow/POLAND
Joined Dec 2009
1,692 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjyoyogi View Post
Questions:
- Using the folding frame requires loosening 24 bolts ?
Yes. It's simply, quick and safe.

Quote:
- Using the non-folding frame requires loosening 12 bolts to remove 2 arms, giving a similar compactness for transport?
It's bad idea. You must remove all screws.

q
Jakub J is online now Find More Posts by Jakub J
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Today, 02:19 AM
Registered User
Av8Chuck's Avatar
USA, CA, Thousand Oaks
Joined Feb 2010
1,747 Posts
Any word on the 3-axis? Are you waiting for a new controller?

Where can those of us in the US purchase the foldable Pro Y6?
Av8Chuck is offline Find More Posts by Av8Chuck
Reply With Quote
Old Today, 03:11 AM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2013
35 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by flitelab View Post
I mount my lipos on top, with retracts and a gimbal there aren't many other options.

Images attached...
I do not want to mount the batteries above the FC. I will be using APM and it is sensible to keep current AWAY from the FC, so they have to go somewhere else.

I would have thought perhaps using removable battery mounting plates on the arms as available for the hex, or between the gimbal and frame, if there is space, but that requires mounting rails or can mount on the back of the rails.

How did you mount the gimbal - is there an option to add mounting rails to the frame ?



Quote:
Originally Posted by Jakub J View Post
Yes. It's simply, quick and safe.


q
OK - Understood.
cjyoyogi is online now Find More Posts by cjyoyogi
Reply With Quote
Old Today, 10:05 AM
Jakub J's Avatar
Krakow/POLAND
Joined Dec 2009
1,692 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Av8Chuck View Post
Any word on the 3-axis? Are you waiting for a new controller?
No, just small changes in design. Final version should be ready tomorrow:

3-axis :) (0 min 44 sec)


Quote:
Where can those of us in the US purchase the foldable Pro Y6?
www.quadframe.us

We will send tomorrow first batch via DHL - should be in stock after weekend.

Jakub
Jakub J is online now Find More Posts by Jakub J
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Today, 02:19 PM
Registered User
Joined May 2013
91 Posts
http://xproheli.com/collections/gimb...ushless-gimbal

Looks like a good choice and design for a gimbal, my first quadcopter was the xp2 , great costumer service
Cameraj is online now Find More Posts by Cameraj
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold RTF 330x w/Termniator AP/AV (pan and tilt) frame and original frame RTF!!! wac Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 18 Oct 01, 2010 10:08 AM
Heliup.com CNC CF Shogun/Zoom frame build thread/review Hoverup Mini Helis 123 Jun 18, 2005 09:09 PM
Trex Mh upgrades build thread+New CF frame review Philpops Mini Helis 127 May 29, 2005 06:04 AM
Trex Mh upgrades build thread+New CF frame review Philpops Mini Helis 77 May 23, 2005 10:40 PM