Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Oct 27, 2012, 11:39 AM
Bulgaria, Sofia-grad, Sofia
Joined Feb 2012
1,564 Posts
Build Log
Scratch-build 35mm EDF delta wing v2.0 (crashed, will rebuild)

Hello guys,
today I finished my first custom EDF foam plane. Some time ago I bought a HK F-18 35mm EDF Micro Jet, but I never managed to get it to fly right, so after the last crash I took the electronics out and decided to do a custom build.

You can also find the build and lots of details on my blog: ArxangelRC.blogspot.com

The original jet did not have nearly enough area to be able to glide, so my goal was to make something lighter and with a bigger wing area. Got a depron sheet and started cutting and gluing. Below you can find the build pics and also a time lapse video of the build. The video does not start from the beginning of the build, but you can see the beginning in the pics.

Last is the video of the maiden flight. Since I am relatively new to planes and since the guys at the field were taking bets whether it was going to fly or crash, I decided to hand it over to a much more experienced person for the first flight, and wouldn't you know... it flew on the first launch. He flew it for about 40 seconds to make sure it flies well. I did the second flight, which starts at around 45th second.

And one last thing, I only noticed that it looks a bit like a space shuttle only after I finished building it. I did not have a plan I was making it up as I was cutting the foam.
"NASA, this was not intentional, please do not sue over infringed space shuttle design patents!"

So basically this:

Turned into this:

Build pics start here:

Here is the time lapse build video:
Custom 35mm EDF delta wing plane time lapse build video! (9 min 20 sec)

Here is the maiden flight video:
New custom delta wing plane with 35mm EDF maiden flight! (5 min 4 sec)

For any questions or recommendations please don't hesitate to post in the thread.
Arxangel is online now Find More Posts by Arxangel