Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Jul 29, 2013, 09:28 PM
Joined Jul 2013
3 Posts
Help!
complete novice and not sure which area to ask questions about receivers and servos.

I tried for the first time to post questions somewhere else but I couldn't figure out the abbreviations like BEC and many more. I'm a walk in off the street novice trying to learn quickly on my own. (Battery Elimination Circuit)

Questions: The 3-axis 3-accelerometer unit. Does the unit provide voltage output to the servos to activate them OR is it an AM/FM/RF "signal" that is sent to the servo which is then converted in the servo to 3, 5, 6....volts to power the motor to move the bellcrank etc. The servo having its own power supply in this case.
So is it a signal or voltage that goes to the servo from the receiver.

Thanks and where should I ask novice questions.
novice1234 is offline Find More Posts by novice1234
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 29, 2013, 09:52 PM
Wake up, feel pulse, be happy!
United States, AK, Fairbanks
Joined Aug 2009
12,371 Posts
Quote:
Questions: The 3-axis 3-accelerometer unit. Does the unit provide voltage output to the servos to activate them OR is it an AM/FM/RF "signal" that is sent to the servo which is then converted in the servo to 3, 5, 6....volts to power the motor to move the bellcrank etc. The servo having its own power supply in this case.
So is it a signal or voltage that goes to the servo from the receiver.
I'm not sure exactly which unit you're referring to; there are quite a few on the market by now. To answer your question, though, all power to the servos, receiver, and the stabilization unit would be provided by a central supply (a BEC or a separate receiver battery). A PWM signal is also supplied, which tells the servo what to do with the voltage it's getting.

Quote:
Thanks and where should I ask novice questions.