HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Feb 15, 2015, 11:05 AM
Joined Jan 2015
7 Posts
Discussion
New motors same as the old motors?

After many years I decided to take up RC flying. Back in the 60s I would watch with fascination as older people fired up little nitro engines, wound up rubber band motors on and on. Never forgot it. Then I when I was about 10 I got a plane with a nitro engine and crashed it in 20 seconds.

Now that I am 60 I am getting started, late life crises or something. So I find everything is now electric. I have spent many hours in the Electric Motor Design Thread learning what I can. Total over load with a million new terms and such. And with over 60,000 posts going back years just canít read them all or find the ones which have answers to specific questions.

Back in the 70s I studied electrical engineering and well remember my class in electromechanical devices so I know what 3 phase power is all about and I work on single and 3 phase induction motors in shops all the time. After reading all this RC stuff it occurred that that no matter what the terms itís still motors only smaller.

So I kind of backed off reading and trying to learn all the new terms like ďESCĒ and such. So I have reached this conclusion, these RC motors are really just plain old 3 phase motors driven by some little DC powered 3 phase converter with frequency control to regulate the speed.

Am I close? Is an ESC the same as a VFD only tiny? At any rate these little motors are amazing and the new batteries are a lot easier to deal with then those old small cans of cox nitro with that silly pump. Itís a wonder I didnít cut off all my fingers starting those old motors.
lhedrick is offline Find More Posts by lhedrick
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 15, 2015, 11:51 AM
Joensuu, Finland
Joined Mar 2002
1,601 Posts
Close, but not quite. See http://www.aerodesign.de/peter/2001/...l#Anker1591256 for an insight of how the esc works, it is not a VFD.