HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 31, 2013, 06:36 PM
Silent Flight
United States, CA, Cypress
Joined Jul 2005
3,927 Posts
Discussion
Optimal GoPro settings for slope videos

I've been taking slope videos for a bit over a year now using what I coined as my GoPor system. Basically an iPhone and tape contraption held in the mouth by biting down on a piece of tape wrapped around the phone. This system has been fun to record some video and share with friends, but it definitely isn't ideal.

Now I have finally bitten the bullet and purchased the latest top of the line from GoPro, the GoPro Hero3 Black edition. I am a noob when it comes to GoPro and it took me about 4 hours last night to get it all set up, firmware updated, and connecting via WiFi to my iPhone. That done, I am now trying to figure out the optimal settings for filming slope videos. The optimal setting would give good video to share via YouTube or Vimeo but not too excessive that you were wasting memory card space or capturing a quality of video others would never really appreciate.

I've sent a few PM's out to people who's videos I admire and whom I believe also use GoPro's, but figured it would be great to open this up to all of the slope community for comments and discussion.

In particular it would be nice to get feedback on the GoPro Hero3 Black edition, but I think including discussion on all models and editions would be the most beneficial for the entire slope community tinkering with GoPros.

Discussion regarding pro's and con's of video hosting services and editors are welcome as well.

Thanks!

-Jonathan
Twyl is offline Find More Posts by Twyl
Last edited by Twyl; Feb 05, 2013 at 01:30 AM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 31, 2013, 06:40 PM
Feeling FrSky
United States, CA, Santa Barbara
Joined Feb 2003
19,937 Posts
Hi Jonathan-

Here's copypasta from my PM in reply to you: