HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Nov 24, 2003, 03:52 PM
Spark antenna on my Tx !
USA, PA, Pittsburgh
Joined Mar 1999
436 Posts
803HC Astro Combo for Corona exp. (?)

Hello Corona Flyers,

I searched and searched ezone regarding the BL motors available for the Corona. I read a plenty about the older Astroflight 020 and related ESC and motor heat issues.

If you're running the newer (bronze-colored) 020 in your Corona...

1. Does it run hot (temperature) on 7 cells ? How about on 8 ?

2. What pinion/cell count are you using ?

3. Are all the CC ESC issues worked out (not enough copper on the board, BEC shutdowns, etc.) ?

Thanks in advance,

Eric
eekflyer is offline Find More Posts by eekflyer
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 24, 2003, 11:52 PM
United States, MN, Big Lake
Joined Sep 2003
274 Posts
Newer Astro 020 for Corona:

I have been running the 020 w/ CC Phoenix 25 for about 2 months on my Corona and have posted some observations about its performance here. Search on my name.
Aerospacer is offline Find More Posts by Aerospacer
RCG Plus Member
Old Nov 25, 2003, 05:48 PM
Spark antenna on my Tx !
USA, PA, Pittsburgh
Joined Mar 1999
436 Posts
Hi Aerospacer,

Thanks for your reply about the 020 and your Corona. I searched on your name and replies.

Maybe I missed the answers for which I'm looking...

Does the new one run hot like the old ?

Do you run it on 8 cells ?

Thanks !

Eric
Old Nov 25, 2003, 08:06 PM
Gravity Tester
Central Michigan
Joined May 2003
1,133 Posts
All motors will get "hot". If a brushless motor is 85% efficient, and it's drawing 20 amps at 8 volts for a total of 160 watts, the motor will produce 136 watts of power (~.18 Horsepower) and 24 watts of heat. 24 watts is a fair amount of heat to get rid of and a heat sink (with it's increased surface area) will radiate the heat better than just the can itself.