Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Apr 04, 2013, 07:39 PM
Cheif Bottlewasher
more coffee's Avatar
Canada, NS, Sydney Mines
Joined Sep 2005
3,181 Posts
MMMMKay now what?

So ...I picked up a couple UNO R3's....

My plan for a first project is a simple thermometer..using the DS18b20..

Then ... I want to put a boat on the moon..

Ok ..so where's a good start on code?

basic like just bare bones ,and a few snipits..

Also .. Im trying to figure ,,like every time I build something it should be as simple as wiring up a particular MCU and running alone..I shouldn't really need to use the whole R3 board right?
more coffee is offline Find More Posts by more coffee
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Hi!
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 04, 2013, 08:11 PM
---o-O-o---
blutoh's Avatar
United States, NJ, Livingston
Joined Mar 2012
1,599 Posts
Start with the examples that come with the Arduino IDE. Once you install the ide, go to files, examples, and then work your way thru them one by one., starting with "blink".
Pete
blutoh is offline Find More Posts by blutoh
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 05, 2013, 03:04 PM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2012
117 Posts
Also check out some of the example tutorials here: http://arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/HomePage
These not only tell you how to write the code to do stuff, but they also show you how to hook up the stuff to the Arduino with graphic pictures. Not only that, but most of these tutorials are based on the examples built into the Arduino IDE. I recommend you at least start with the "Basics" section and go through a few of those first.

As for the DS18B20 and using that with an Arduino, just Google "Arduino DS18B20" and you'll find lots of different ways and examples.
Skystream is offline Find More Posts by Skystream
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 05, 2013, 08:13 PM
made of fire and pop rocks
bgnome's Avatar
Richmond Virginia
Joined Oct 2009
1,711 Posts
to get a boat on the moon, I'm thinking that you need at LEAST 5 Estes big berthas to get the dang thing up there.

no scratch that.. comanche 3's we cant be messing around here y;know..

any ways... no... the R3 board has the breakouts and support stuff, its really just a programer for the MCU chip. technically speaking, you can use the R3 board to upload the program to your chip, then pop it out and put the chip into a custom board.
bgnome is offline Find More Posts by bgnome
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 05, 2013, 08:48 PM
---o-O-o---
blutoh's Avatar
United States, NJ, Livingston
Joined Mar 2012
1,599 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by more coffee View Post
........ Im trying to figure ,,like every time I build something it should be as simple as wiring up a particular MCU and running alone..I shouldn't really need to use the whole R3 board right?
You can work it out easily if you prototype it on a bread board like the one shown below. Use jumper wires between the arduino and the device to do the testing, then you can transfer the final circuit.

Pete
blutoh is offline Find More Posts by blutoh
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 05, 2013, 09:51 PM
Registered User
Minnetonka Minnesota
Joined Aug 2007
1,196 Posts
I have my uno now too, I was able to make it blink.

Will have sometime this weekend to do some more.

I ran across electrodragon.com, the parts seem very inexpensive but shipped from china, have any of you used that source? They have the jumper leads, breadboards and $3.10 mini servos, and all sorts of arduino related stuff.

Cap
capricorn is offline Find More Posts by capricorn
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 05, 2013, 10:04 PM
---o-O-o---
blutoh's Avatar
United States, NJ, Livingston
Joined Mar 2012
1,599 Posts
Hi Cap,

I buy from www.yourduino.com. The parts and arduino boards are top quality and the pricing is great.

Pete

EDIT: Just checked you link, looks like same merchandise, but better prices on many items.
blutoh is offline Find More Posts by blutoh
Last edited by blutoh; Apr 05, 2013 at 10:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 06, 2013, 07:18 PM
Pilot, Co-pilot, Navagator
nemoskull's Avatar
United States, AZ, Yuma
Joined Sep 2009
2,762 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by more coffee View Post
Then ... I want to put a boat on the moon..

Ok ..so where's a good start on code?
well, you would need a guidanced computer to get to the moon, so getting some arduino code about gyros and acceleomters would bwe a good place to start
nemoskull is offline Find More Posts by nemoskull
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 06, 2013, 08:07 PM
made of fire and pop rocks
bgnome's Avatar
Richmond Virginia
Joined Oct 2009
1,711 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by nemoskull View Post
well, you would need a guidanced computer to get to the moon, so getting some arduino code about gyros and acceleomters would bwe a good place to start
The Rpi could handle the guidance no problem, paired with an Arduino for sensor handling and real time control, you got more power than the apollo program did for real time operations.
bgnome is offline Find More Posts by bgnome
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 08, 2013, 08:03 PM
Pilot, Co-pilot, Navagator
nemoskull's Avatar
United States, AZ, Yuma
Joined Sep 2009
2,762 Posts
my one dollar POS attiny25 dip8 has waaaaaay more computational power than the AGCII.

i have wanted to make a guidance computer out of a arduino nano for a while. the math is a bit scary, tho.
nemoskull is offline Find More Posts by nemoskull
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 09, 2013, 05:52 PM
Cheif Bottlewasher
more coffee's Avatar
Canada, NS, Sydney Mines
Joined Sep 2005
3,181 Posts
I have the bread boards and ,more old circuit boards for bits and stuff ..

In that area im good ,I messed around with a little logic.

Ive a bunch of solder boards as well ..

That was my biggest question ,because being an R3 each time is $$$$..

So, being able to program a MCU and set it in a circuit is a plus.
more coffee is offline Find More Posts by more coffee
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Hi!
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 09, 2013, 06:00 PM
---o-O-o---
blutoh's Avatar
United States, NJ, Livingston
Joined Mar 2012
1,599 Posts
Check out this link. Once you have you appliaction all worked out, you can make one of these, adding the other pieces your app needs, and voila, a deployable circuit for < $10. Check the Uno R3 clone.
blutoh is offline Find More Posts by blutoh
Last edited by blutoh; Apr 09, 2013 at 06:00 PM. Reason: sp,
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2013, 08:02 PM
Pilot, Co-pilot, Navagator
nemoskull's Avatar
United States, AZ, Yuma
Joined Sep 2009
2,762 Posts
there also is a 'shrinkify' project. lets you use arduino code on a 1 dollar 5 io line chip or a slightly bigger chip with 11 io lines.

might be helpful if you find yourself running out of boards.
nemoskull is offline Find More Posts by nemoskull
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Discontinued battery, now what? svtflyer Beginner Training Area (Aircraft-Electric) 11 Jan 26, 2014 07:12 AM
Discussion What to work on now? los36 Beginner Training Area (Fuel) 27 Feb 08, 2013 01:21 PM
Discussion Now they will control what you see Fokker Ace Life, The Universe, and Politics 347 Feb 05, 2013 07:11 AM
Discussion fried assan, got dx6i, now what? sniemetz Radios 1 Jan 21, 2013 09:02 PM
Discussion Turnigy 9X finally arrived.....now what? VytasandRio Multirotor Talk 6 Jan 04, 2013 03:37 PM