HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Nov 06, 2012, 01:47 PM
United States, CT, Waterbury
Joined Oct 2002
1,866 Posts
Help!
Trying to fit an outrunner to old FMA Direct Razor 400

Hello! I need to start by saying I have zero experience with flying wings!

I was walking around my attic last night, and found an old FMA Razor new in the box. No electronics, just the airframe.

The airframe has mount for Speed 400 motor.. I'm guessing we're talking about 2000-2002 or so here

My question - what would be the easiest way to mount a brushless outrunner motor to this wing? I have two outrunner motors I already own and I think would be ideal to use, so I'd like to not have to buy another motor. I have lipos, ESC, servos... I really just need to build the thing, and mount the motor.. I'm also planning on adding a CF tube spar to join the wings for more rigidity. I am *hoping* to build a VERY fast wing... Is 100mph possible?! hahaa
I think I can figure out the TX programming and airplane setup, really I just want to know from you guys what you think would be the best way to mount a motor on that wing.. I was planning on getting out some scrap wood and just going to town, but I think others must have done this before and can save me some headaches!!!

Thanks for any help! Looking forward to getting this thing in the air!!
TurboRacer is online now Find More Posts by TurboRacer
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 07, 2012, 06:38 PM
right between the batteries
Farmington UT
Joined Jun 2010
143 Posts
I would mount a piece of 1/4" ply or a piece of 1/16" metal to the back of it's built in motor mount... then you could mount the motor to that.

I would use this motor, with this prop... but you may have other products in mind

Best of luck,

...oh and i almost forgot. these wings have been known to get bad flutter at high speeds, so some extra CF spars and tweaking may be needed.
Justo23 is offline Find More Posts by Justo23
Old Nov 07, 2012, 07:52 PM
I'm overcoming gravity!