HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jul 22, 2013, 04:56 PM
Registered User
scoobiemario's Avatar
United States, VA, Williamsburg
Joined Jan 2011
1,128 Posts
Discussion
Brake or no brake on ESC

I was wondering if anybody uses Soft Brake feature of ESC in your electric planes.
My 60 size corsair does not slow down very easily and I thought this could help.
scoobiemario is online now Find More Posts by scoobiemario
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 22, 2013, 05:07 PM
Grumpy old git.. Who me?
JetPlaneFlyer's Avatar
Aberdeen
Joined Mar 2006
11,377 Posts
The brake feature is normally used for folding props, so as to stop the rotation and actually allow the prop to fold.

Counter intuitive though it may sound it's sometimes the case that a freewheeling prop produces more braking force than a braked one. But it depends on a few variables. But give it a try by all means, 'soft' break shouldn't do any harm. best not use hard brake though as it can put a lot of stress into the motor and mounting when the prop stops almost instantly.

Your Corrsair probably flies fast because it's heavy. Slow it down and it might just fall out of the sky so be careful what you wish for.
JetPlaneFlyer is online now Find More Posts by JetPlaneFlyer
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2013, 05:32 PM
Space Coast USA
hoppy's Avatar
Space Coast
Joined Oct 2000
20,806 Posts
That's an experiment you can run on your next outing. Do you like it better with the prop free wheeling or braked?
hoppy is offline Find More Posts by hoppy
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2013, 05:40 PM
Registered User
Canada, NS, Truro
Joined Aug 2004
293 Posts
A free wheeling prop creates more drag than a stopped one and therefore slows the plane more.
I use a brake on my powered gliders but "brake off" on all my other planes.
Charles.
mobird is offline Find More Posts by mobird
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2013, 07:42 PM
Registered User
DustBen's Avatar
United States, NE, Kearney
Joined Dec 2011
2,232 Posts
I use the soft brake feature.
Whether the plane has a landing gear or not, I try to get the prop somewhat close to parallel to the wings for landings.
It saves the motor shaft in the long run.
DustBen is offline Find More Posts by DustBen
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2013, 08:45 AM
Registered User
scoobiemario's Avatar
United States, VA, Williamsburg
Joined Jan 2011
1,128 Posts
I use 3 bladed prop, and I am not worried about damaging it. I was wondering how to slow the plane down faster. I think I will just use it free spinning, as most say it's ok this way anyways.
scoobiemario is online now Find More Posts by scoobiemario
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2013, 09:21 AM
Canadian Bacon
flypaper 2's Avatar
Kingston, Canada
Joined Jun 2004
12,635 Posts
Some props will not freewheel ,moreso the motor. The idea is to put enough power on the motor just to turn the prop as slow as possible. My DX8 makes an audible click when the the motor is engaged. So when I'm coming in for a landing, I give it enough throttle just to hear the click. If you don't have this feature and you see the prop stopped, give it enough throttle to just see the prop turn. Some planes that have very clean lines, such Reno Racers and some warbirds do have difficulty slowing down without flaps.

Gord.
flypaper 2 is online now Find More Posts by flypaper 2
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2013, 09:36 AM
jrb
Member
jrb's Avatar
Edina, MN, USA
Joined Oct 1999
11,414 Posts
YMMV -- I prefer brake on, except for EDF.
jrb is offline Find More Posts by jrb
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2013, 09:36 AM
Grass stain your plane.
RAlanBoyle's Avatar
United States, IL, Chicago
Joined Feb 2011
204 Posts
Since you have a very large electric motor you need to be extra careful with the brake. If it brakes too hard the prop will loosen the nut even if it is tight. Try it on the ground first.
RAlanBoyle is online now Find More Posts by RAlanBoyle
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2013, 01:24 PM
Grumpy old git.. Who me?
JetPlaneFlyer's Avatar
Aberdeen
Joined Mar 2006
11,377 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DustBen View Post
I use the soft brake feature.
Whether the plane has a landing gear or not, I try to get the prop somewhat close to parallel to the wings for landings.
It saves the motor shaft in the long run.
As (in most cases) landing are best done with a little power on I don't see that being a great idea?

Fair enough for belly landers but for models with gear you will get a much more controlled and gentle landing if you fly the plane down with some power on, or at least control the descent with power. I always thought of 'glide all the way' landing as a newbie manoeuvre?
JetPlaneFlyer is online now Find More Posts by JetPlaneFlyer
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2013, 01:33 PM
Registered User
United States, NJ, Browns Mills
Joined May 2005
1,830 Posts
Quote:
I always thought of 'glide all the way' landing as a newbie manoeuvre?
It isn't bad to be able to do deadstick landings. Even electrics can lose power and need to come in deadstick.

CD
Captain Dunsel is online now Find More Posts by Captain Dunsel
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 02, 2013, 10:28 AM
Registered User
scoobiemario's Avatar
United States, VA, Williamsburg
Joined Jan 2011
1,128 Posts
After few more flight's I figure out how much power slows the plane down enough but not too much. I decided to not use ESC brake.
But thanks all of you for opinions
scoobiemario is online now Find More Posts by scoobiemario
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 02, 2013, 11:31 AM
buyer of the farm
United States, FL, DeLand
Joined Mar 2009
4,012 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetPlaneFlyer View Post
I always thought of 'glide all the way' landing as a newbie manoeuvre?
Then someday soon you'll wish you were a newbie! That's number one item to practice until it's second nature, especially on faster planes.
Rockin Robbins is online now Find More Posts by Rockin Robbins
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 02, 2013, 11:46 AM
DX5e fatal flaw- PM me!!!!
United States, NY, Cortland
Joined Sep 2010
2,839 Posts
One thing the brake is good for is being able to tell if you're giving it no throttle, or a little throttle.

I often do a steep-approach dead-stick landing as it quickly gets me through a turbulent area off the end of the runway, and it lets me get through theb turbulence with some decent speed (better control authority). I have to go steeper with no brake, a lot steeper with flaps down.
CNY_Dave is offline Find More Posts by CNY_Dave
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 05, 2013, 11:20 AM
Crash Test Pilot
dakotaflyer's Avatar
United States, SD, Sioux Falls
Joined Dec 2012
20 Posts
I use the brake on my grass lander planes only. Otherwise no brake
dakotaflyer is offline Find More Posts by dakotaflyer
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question ESC.. Brake vs No Brake on brushed motor? bartricky Beginner Training Area (Aircraft-Electric) 3 Mar 16, 2008 09:22 PM
Discussion F5D brake or no brake on esc jaywatay High Performance 5 Dec 12, 2006 01:04 PM
Question Brake or No Brake ESC? ovaltine Micro Helis 2 Jun 30, 2004 01:13 AM
ESc with brake or no brake Baveux Parkflyers 1 Jun 25, 2003 11:18 AM
ESC - Brake or No Brake? Erinair Power Systems 1 Oct 30, 2001 03:30 AM