HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Feb 03, 2015, 04:18 PM
Joined Feb 2015
3 Posts
Discussion
Need suggestions on ideal platform for hog/coyote control

I've fallen in love with the Vtol Trainer I first saw on youtube and found the build thread here.

I'm a cnc machinist and also have a 3D printer. I run a little flight simulation company called skyunlimited productions, and have real world flight training. While I'm good with many things that tie into this hobby .etc I'm not that familiar with available r/c components.

I'd love to have a device such as the Vtol Trainer, but have a few requirements.

FPV with minimum transmission range of 1,500 yards
Range of at least 1,500 yards with return to base if signal lost.
Capable of carrying 1-2lb of camera equipment.
Programmable GPS way-points in both Quad and Airplane modes
Autopilot capable of being programed to manage the transition between quad and airplane mode. Fly to x waypoint - hover/scan area then proceed to next in airplane mode.
GPS waypoint Autoland in quad mode
15 minutes of flight time, more would be desired.
Ability to add head tracking and pan tilt to the cameras at a later time.

I'd like to be able to deploy the aircraft from a side-by-side and have it fly patterns of GPS provided waypoints while we monitor and potentially engage coyotes and hogs. Having it as autonomous as possible would be best as our attention would not have to be constantly on it.

I thought a vtol project would be more ideal for my needs since I would like to maximize flight time and carrying capacity. Though there might be another route that would be more ideal for my needs.

I thought, Quad mode would not necessarily need to be sustained, but rather be primarily used for takeoff and landing. That way we can have more efficient use of the available power and have easier flight characteristics.