SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Sep 18, 2007, 10:51 AM
Joined Aug 2007
7 Posts
Discussion
Carbon fiber finish

I'm new to composites. I've made a few carbon fiber plates by laying up fabric and epoxy resin between two pieces of MDF wood and wax paper, basically making a sandwich and then clamping the heck out of it to substitute for a vacuum.

The plates come out pretty good but don't have the "glossy" cosmetic appearance that I've seen on other CF parts. I care more about utility than cosmetics, but it couldn't hurt to have it look good. What are my options? I've heard you can use clear coat in a can as a final finish, but that it may peel off over time. I've also heard you can layup with polyester resin instead of epoxy, but it won't be as strong.

Cosmetics aside, does my epoxy finish need UV protection? The parts will see MAXIMUM one hour of sunlight per week, probably.

Thanks!
The111 is offline Find More Posts by The111
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 18, 2007, 11:31 AM
newbee to rc
lake forest, CA
Joined Feb 2007
327 Posts
Use Mylar or a similar glossy surfaced material instead of wax paper. Also, wax and buff the surface of the material facing the epoxy.

Paul
flxzcat is offline Find More Posts by flxzcat
Old Sep 18, 2007, 11:33 AM
United States, FL, Gainesville
Joined Dec 2005
2,883 Posts
Remember that the finish on the part mirrors the mold, which in your case is wax paper. Try using waxed mylar or acetate about .013 thick, and watch your finish improve. Car wax is fine.
David Forbes is online now Find More Posts by David Forbes
Old Sep 18, 2007, 03:08 PM
Joined Aug 2007
7 Posts
Thanks for the replies guys. Sounds like waxed maylar is the way to go. Where can I obtain this? The wax paper I was using was available at grocery stores... I've never bought a mylar sheet before so I'm not sure where to look.

Thanks again.
The111 is offline Find More Posts by The111
Old Sep 18, 2007, 03:35 PM
United States, CA, Davis