HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 30, 2013, 11:48 PM
United States, GA, Duluth
Joined Jul 2009
64 Posts
Build Log
Panzer VIII Maus 1/16th Scale

Hi all, I'm new to RC tanks, I've done planes, submarines, and even a little boats. And then I bought Heng Long's 1/16 Panther G. I had already planned to make a 1/72 scale Ratte to go with my model kits and make it RC, but with my Panther, I had to have something to compliment it and the Maus was big but still manageable.

At 1/16th the Maus's body alone is about 21.5 inches long (the panther is less than 17)...so, pretty big. A simple blocky shape, I'm not going to worry much about the details but I would like it to look pretty scale.

Now I searched the net for plans to no avail, none sold one there was no model kit to convert. So I found a "papercraft" pattern to make a 1/50th paper model. In Russian, you can find it here: http://worldoftanks.ru/ru/media/10/maus-paper-tank/

In spite of the language barrier, the plans were clear enough. I scaled the PDF to print at 1/16th and started work.
I have already finished the undercarriage, it is made of 1/8in Basswood with three 1/8in Balsa ribs this is the basic skeleton, the treads fit in those gaps underneath the ribs.

I had planed to build the outside in 1/4 balsa but realized too late that that would seriously throw off not only the scale but also the plans which were designed with paper or card-stock in mind. Instead I will pick up some more 1/8in Basswood and use it for the outside. Once the basic outside is complete I will use epoxy to sheet it with styrene plastic sheets for extra strength and use the 1/4in balsa to reenforce it inside.

My biggest problem so far is treads. At 1/16th, the Maus has treads 2 7/8th inch wide and I cant really squeeze 3 inch in there, I could to 2.5 inch easily. But I don't know where to get that or the sprockets and wheels, please help!