SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 31, 2013, 10:26 AM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2013
413 Posts
I just posted about the OSD on the Mod thread but that seems to be dying.

Here is my Phantom, she grew a tail and is now a cyclops!
(I'm working on reducing the cable size/length)

I'm waiting for a super cheap OSD ($14.99) just to monitor battery power as I now am flying back to check the blinking light manually. I like the fiber optic mod I saw somewhere but need a Hero3 cable anyways so just order a OSD along with it.


The FPV tx antenna location and orientation seems to be working well, any advice would be appreciated!
FITandFUEL is offline Find More Posts by FITandFUEL
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 31, 2013, 10:32 AM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2012
2,781 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jakub J View Post
No - only 90g including typical servos.
<> 60g w/o servos.

q
Following my previous question about 'steppy' servos, what are you using and can recommend, what would you avoid and what's best if money was no object?

I keep reading that the Naza is fairly fussy with the servos it likes, but I found this link to explain servos in general, then this link compares all the ones on the market.

It would be really useful if those making their own gimbals could tell us what servos they're using with the Naza, then we could look up the weight, torque rating, speed, types of bearing(s), gear type etc. and - most importantly - the price and see what works best for our budgets and needs.

Also, useful info: what servos the Naza won't work with.
Brandigan is offline Find More Posts by Brandigan
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Jan 31, 2013, 10:46 AM
Jakub J's Avatar
Krakow/POLAND
Joined Dec 2009
1,743 Posts
I don't have big experience with Naza gimbal control but I'll test this in
next days...

By the way

Gimbal version for DJI Phantom



http://quadframe.com/collections/cm/products/g01k

Jakub
Jakub J is offline Find More Posts by Jakub J
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 10:48 AM
Jakub J's Avatar
Krakow/POLAND
Joined Dec 2009
1,743 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by beamen View Post
Will this come as RTF or do you have to assemble it yourself? Will it come with the servo extension wires and the number to enter into the NAZA?
Parts set, not RTF.

No servo extensions.

Numbers - I'll test this...

q
Jakub J is offline Find More Posts by Jakub J
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 10:55 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2011
696 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jakub J View Post
Parts set, not RTF.

No servo extensions.

Numbers - I'll test this...

q
Looks very good. Keep in mind that the Phantom is marketed to the "newbs", people who don't know or don't want to get into the details of everything.

You should at least make a "assemble and fly kit" with servos that work well with the setup, with extensions, numbers etc. So you buy the kit, assemble, and fly it. No other parts needed.

Are you going to make such a kit as well?
beamen is offline Find More Posts by beamen
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 10:59 AM
Jakub J's Avatar
Krakow/POLAND
Joined Dec 2009
1,743 Posts
I'll think about this, give me a few days.

But - will you pay for extra work?

q
Jakub J is offline Find More Posts by Jakub J
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 11:01 AM
DJI Support
Las Vegas/Lake Tahoe
Joined Feb 2010
10,311 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by FITandFUEL View Post
I just posted about the OSD on the Mod thread but that seems to be dying.
FF don't give up so soon. It will take time for the thread to flame up. You also need to keep promoting the link here if you want it to succeed. I ended up posting the link here since you did not after you opened it up. I do appreciate your doing that. It takes time but there are plenty of folks that want to mod the Phantom. Stay with it.
Tahoe Ed is offline Find More Posts by Tahoe Ed
Site Sponsor
Latest blog entry: Landing Gear Reset S800
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 11:05 AM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2013
44 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jakub J View Post
I'll think about this, give me a few days.

But - will you pay for extra work?

q
I know I would. Not that I'm lazy, but I watched the video of you assembling the other gimbal and I just imagined my patients violently exiting my body about 4 minutes in.

Plus having the values to add in the naza assistant is like gold to me.
Kcraig99 is offline Find More Posts by Kcraig99
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 11:05 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2011
696 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jakub J View Post
I'll think about this, give me a few days.

But - will you pay for extra work?

q
Of course. Like I said, the Phantom is so popular because it just WORKS out of the box. For me, I have looked for years on/off to get a nice quad, but it was just too much work. Building the thing, getting the correct parts, settings it up correctly, trouble shooting, so I never pulled the trigger (not even close). Then the DJI Phantom came out - all I needed, built, RTF with the GPS lock. It was a no brainier. 1 day later I ordered it.

I want a gimbal too (it will make the Phantom complete). So I'll take a RTF version, and I am sure MANY others will as well. Maybe not on this forum, but I'm sure it will sell like hot cakes on ebay and where the "normal" consumers are.

Get it, insert the screws from the gimbal the Phantom, insert the numbers, connect the servo extensions. Done. Just as easy as putting the Phantom together.
beamen is offline Find More Posts by beamen
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 11:10 AM
flitelab's Avatar
Canada, NS, Halifax
Joined Feb 2010
7,258 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jakub J View Post
I'll think about this, give me a few days.

But - will you pay for extra work?

q
If someone wants one assembled in Canada I could do it for a small fee. I have a couple of the Lunar lander versions in stock that could be made to work.
flitelab is offline Find More Posts by flitelab
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 11:16 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2011
696 Posts
Jakub J, is the video jello-free? Please get us some RAW video from it
beamen is offline Find More Posts by beamen
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 11:24 AM
Jakub J's Avatar
Krakow/POLAND
Joined Dec 2009
1,743 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by beamen View Post
Jakub J, is the video jello-free? Please get us some RAW video from it
Source of jello are motors / propellers / frame rather than gimbal.

You can check my videos from this gimbal (but not from Phantom):

GoPro gimbal (rev. 2) test flying...2012-01-12 (2 min 41 sec)

quadcopter fun flying 2012-01-02 (3 min 19 sec)

Lunar Lander 4 quadcopter morning FPV flying (3 min 52 sec)


I'll start flying Phantom in 2-3 days and will show results.

q
Jakub J is offline Find More Posts by Jakub J
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 11:28 AM
Videographer/Product Reviews
daskim's Avatar
Joined Oct 2012
1,774 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by atlav8r View Post
This is a great battery for the Phantom from a US source that stands behind their products that is under $20 and you can pick your connector under the related items tab. See it here.
Does the Phantom require XT60?

One thought for AH and this battery. Could you guys consider selling Phantom compatible batteries with XT60 connector without the 45% additional charge for soldering, or at least a lesser charge?
daskim is offline Find More Posts by daskim
Last edited by daskim; Jan 31, 2013 at 11:34 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 11:34 AM
flitelab's Avatar
Canada, NS, Halifax
Joined Feb 2010
7,258 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by daskim View Post
Does the Phantom require XT60?

It would be great if AH provides Phantom compatible batteries already with XT60 without the additional charge or without the 45% additional charge for soldering.
Yes stock Phantom connector is XT60
flitelab is offline Find More Posts by flitelab
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 11:36 AM
DJI Support
Las Vegas/Lake Tahoe
Joined Feb 2010
10,311 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by flitelab View Post
Yes stock Phantom connector is XT60
The Turnegys that I just bought had the XT60's already soldered on. I got them from the US warehouse.
Tahoe Ed is offline Find More Posts by Tahoe Ed
Site Sponsor
Latest blog entry: Landing Gear Reset S800
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion DJI Quadcopter Frame BUILD Thread Quad_Addict Multirotor Talk 78 Mar 17, 2014 11:20 PM
Mini-HowTo POSTING VIDEO: How to Upgrade a Gaui 330x quadcopter with a DJI NAZA Lucidity47 Multirotor Talk 5 Jun 07, 2012 01:31 AM
Video Multiwii Quadcopter Dji F-450 frame Updated Video Anda Inc. Electric Heli Talk 1 May 23, 2012 03:51 PM
Discussion DJI S800 Spreading Wings has landed at Quadcopters UK Headquarters QuadcoptersUk Multirotor Talk 8 May 14, 2012 02:27 PM