HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale

Park Flyers R/C YAK 54XL Pro Grade 3D Review

The Park Flyers R/C YAK 54XL: study, colorful, affordable, and it may be an excellent choice for a pilot ready to try 3D flying.

Splash

Introduction

Wingspan:36.6 in.
Length:35 in.
Flying Weight:19 oz.
Servos:3 mini included in RTF and ARF
Transmitter:2.4 GHZ included in RTF
Motor:3600 KV brushless included in RTF and ARF
ESC:25 AMP brushless
Battery:3x1300 ma. included in RTF
Available From:ParkFlyers R/C
Price:$209.99 RTF, $179.99 ARF

Have you been thinking about giving 3D flying a try? I'm an intermediately skilled Sunday flyer at best, but the idea of trying 3D hasn't been far from my mind for a long time. Of course, as a beginner I would need something rugged enough to take the inevitable beginner's bumps, big enough to see easily and not bounce around in a breeze and affordable. When I saw the Park Flyers R/C Yak 54-XL Pro Grade 3D in a magazine ad, I began to get serious. This very competent looking version of the Yak is quite handsome in a Red-White-Black color scheme, made of easily repairable foam and is priced at $209.99 ready to fly complete with a 2.4 GHZ radio (actually only $199.99 at the moment at Park Flyers R/C's web site). I thought it just might be what I was looking for, so knowing there is only one way to find out (other than reading eZone reviews, that is) I ordered one up and here is my report.

The RTF (ready to fly) version of the Yak reviewed here comes with a 2.4 gHz radio, a motor and all electronics installed, and a 3 cell 1300 ma. battery with charger. It is also available in an ARF (almost ready to fly) version lacking the radio, battery and charger for $179.99. Park Flyers' web page also lists a Stripped Kit (bare airframe) version although no price is listed.