Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old May 19, 2012, 08:27 PM
Richard
14532924's Avatar
United States, GA, Cumming
Joined Aug 2005
54 Posts
Discussion
A 200% Gyrace ???

Hi. I'm "thinking" about building a 200% Gyrace autogyro. Can't seem to find any builds or photos of the enlargment. Just looking for info on pitfalls, ideas,& advise. What is your thinking ???
Richard
14532924 is offline Find More Posts by 14532924
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old May 19, 2012, 10:26 PM
AND FOR MY NEXT TRICK....!
jodini's Avatar
Omaha Millard, Nebraska, United States
Joined Sep 2004
4,059 Posts
I think that would be AWESOME! Should fly really well.
Joe
jodini is offline Find More Posts by jodini
Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2012, 05:46 PM
It was a GLITCH! Honestly!
SafeLandings's Avatar
Stourport on Severn ,Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Joined Dec 2007
4,806 Posts
I believe this was at Muncie 2004, photos taken i think by Joel Waldo.


Regards

Rich
SafeLandings is offline Find More Posts by SafeLandings
Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2012, 07:12 PM
Registered User
Lakeland,FL
Joined Jan 2005
341 Posts
Gyrace

The guy was from Bedford and still flys some big planes.. See him at Muncie at the Warbird meets sometimes.
I told him once I was going to build one bigger and he said he would build one bigger than mind.
It did fly OK.

Jim in Muncie,IN.
rcflyerfl is offline Find More Posts by rcflyerfl
Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2012, 09:38 PM
AND FOR MY NEXT TRICK....!
jodini's Avatar
Omaha Millard, Nebraska, United States
Joined Sep 2004
4,059 Posts
Mr. 14532924,
Nice name by the way! HA!

So my gyrace flew the best when I put aerobalsa blades on it and used the delta head on it. If it was me, I would use the same delta head and then use twice the size of aerobalsa blades I used.......

When I used the standard set-up, which was flat blades, it was very tough to control. See below!
Gyrace Autogyro Maiden (4 min 6 sec)


And here it is with the aerobalsa blades:
Gyrace Autogyro (4 min 8 sec)
jodini is offline Find More Posts by jodini
Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2012, 09:07 PM
Richard
14532924's Avatar
United States, GA, Cumming
Joined Aug 2005
54 Posts
Joe.. Thanks for the videos. I also have a standard size Gyrace with the paddle blades (as per plans) which seems a little sensitive ..but .. to be honest I don't have the experience to tell if it is "too" touchier. Seems normal to me. I looked at your videos several times and can't see the difference( just me I guess)
I have decided to go with the delta heads if for no other reason then they seem like they are more robust for the size of the blades. I have some Sig airfoil, 3 inch blades. Do you think they will work in place of the Aerobalsa ones??
Open to ANY ideas,
Richard
14532924 is offline Find More Posts by 14532924
Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2012, 09:56 PM
AND FOR MY NEXT TRICK....!
jodini's Avatar
Omaha Millard, Nebraska, United States
Joined Sep 2004
4,059 Posts
Richard,
Here's what I would do....use the delta heads, go to aerobalsa and buy a package of these blades:
http://aerobalsa.bigcartel.com/produ...-x-36-set-of-4

and then cut them in half, making 18 inch blades. You would have to think 6 of those spinning would give you plenty of lift and be perfect.....I could be wrong.

The problem witth the sig airfoil is they don't give you as much lift and might not work as well.
jodini is offline Find More Posts by jodini
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Build Log A Gyrace (like) conversion Mud Duck Bill Auto Gyros 40 Jan 30, 2012 02:45 PM