HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jun 29, 2014, 06:32 PM
Joined Dec 2013
23 Posts
Discussion
Need help choosing hardware. 25" WildThing - first boat

I started on my first RC boat scratch build a few days ago and I am to the point where I need to mount my hardware. It is a 24.5" WildThing constructed from balsa that will eventually be fiberglassed.
I am building this to try out RC boating, so I want it to be somewhat fast but it doesn't need to be a champion racer. I am thinking about 30-40mph. I also don't want to dump a ton of money into the electronics.
I plan to get this HobbyKing 50A watercooled ESC. When it comes to the motor, I don't know where to start! This Turnigy AquaStar 3520 looks like it'd be good, but I don't know what I should be looking for as far as KV goes. NOTE: I have lots of experience with electric planes so I know the basics but I don't know how to choose a boat motor and boat prop.

Any recommendations for a 50A motor and prop setup for a 25" V hull?
Ham Sammiches is offline Find More Posts by Ham Sammiches
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 02, 2014, 12:00 PM
United Kingdom, England, Blackpool
Joined Sep 2013
55 Posts
Very nice hull, do you have any plans for it that you could send me?
tomrandall is offline Find More Posts by tomrandall
Old Jul 02, 2014, 01:43 PM
Joined Dec 2013
23 Posts
I have the plans saved on my computer and I'm away now but I can access them later for ya. You can buy the official plans online if you search for Wild Thing plans. The plans I use were made from a CAD model but they worked well. It's a pretty easy and fun build! I cut out all the pieces from about $15 of balsa sheets.
Old Jul 02, 2014, 01:44 PM
Joined Dec 2013
23 Posts
Do you have experience with RC boats and could help with my motor situation? Does any one have any tips picking a motor and prop?
Old Jul 02, 2014, 01:56 PM
United Kingdom, England, Blackpool
Joined Sep 2013
55 Posts