HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 06, 2012, 08:54 PM
Joined Feb 2012
48 Posts
Discussion
Spinning/turning fixed pitch heli & cp heli

I have been flying fixed pitch heli for a few months now thinking of upgrading to cp. I have one question about heli moving around out of position when turning the headings of my fixed pitch will this happen with the cp heli?

What happens is that every time I turn rudder from nose in to tail in or vice versa the heli move away out of its hovering position makes me want to constantly control it to stay in position otherwise it will use a lot of space to level it out doesn't matter I turn left or right. Does this happen to cp heli as well? As I saw some YouTube videos doesn't seem to happen with cp heli may be doesn't happen under competent pilot?
vernonsmith is offline Find More Posts by vernonsmith
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 06, 2012, 09:03 PM
Don't take any wooden nickels
United States, CA, San Diego
Joined Mar 2012
1,917 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by vernonsmith View Post
I have been flying fixed pitch heli for a few months now thinking of upgrading to cp. I have one question about heli moving around out of position when turning the headings of my fixed pitch will this happen with the cp heli?

What happens is that every time I turn rudder from nose in to tail in or vice versa the heli move away out of its hovering position makes me want to constantly control it to stay in position otherwise it will use a lot of space to level it out doesn't matter I turn left or right. Does this happen to cp heli as well? As I saw some YouTube videos doesn't seem to happen with cp heli may be doesn't happen under competent pilot?
Your fixed pitch probably uses a gyro with rate mode. Most people use a head holding gyro for their cp's. The rate mode flies differently, seems to turn in the direction the heli is falling. Most gyros have both a rate mode and a headholding mode.