HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Aug 01, 2014, 08:03 AM
Registered User
United Kingdom, England, Bourn
Joined Feb 2012
11 Posts
Thanks for the tips guys - still no joy - trying with a new nano that just arrived ;-(
never mind i have to go away for a week so its on hold now...
mrwilljackson is offline Find More Posts by mrwilljackson
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 10, 2014, 03:34 AM
RC Farmer
Farmer_Joe's Avatar
Joined Aug 2011
419 Posts
Is there a way to delete the GPS part of the code so i can use the osd normally without gps on some smaller planes ?
Farmer_Joe is offline Find More Posts by Farmer_Joe
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2014, 08:03 AM
Flying Wood For Fun
irun4fundotca's Avatar
Canada, ON, Harrowsmith
Joined Jan 2012
7,025 Posts
it should work without a gps connected
irun4fundotca is offline Find More Posts by irun4fundotca
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2014, 09:54 AM
Registered User
United Kingdom, England, Bourn
Joined Feb 2012
11 Posts
I can confirm it works without GPS connected

Also found the source of my problems:
1. not power cycling properly when uploading the 7456 charset
2. enabling the clone 7456 chips (not sure if this made a difference)
3. connecting the gps GND to the correct pin on the arduino pro mini.

It seems that attaching the GND from the NEO 6m GPS to a shared GND pin on the arduino prevents the osd displaying text - weird! however connecting it to the GND adjacent to the rx and tx pins it works fine.

Will try a barometer next
mrwilljackson is offline Find More Posts by mrwilljackson
Last edited by mrwilljackson; Aug 11, 2014 at 09:54 AM. Reason: typo in osd
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2014, 10:35 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2010
306 Posts
Has anyone had luck running the neo6m at 10Hz?
Zangetsu57 is offline Find More Posts by Zangetsu57
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2014, 06:27 PM
surf monkey
changosurf's Avatar
United States, CA, San Diego
Joined Aug 2011
1,139 Posts
@Dennis
techincal question about the code for the max7456...
I can't seem to get the blinking feature to work when the chip is set to 'external sync' mode. It appears to work with 'internal sync' but then obviously the incoming video is disabled since it's using its internal video sync signal.

I'm using a minimOSD, and everything else seems to work fine, but, for some strange reason, the blinking doesn't work. Isn't the maxim supposed to automatically figure out the sync & timing for the blinking from the incoming video signal, Vin? Or, is there supposed to be a clock signal being fed to the max chip? I'm a bit confused by how this should work.

I'm working with a modified version of your code, and I'm trying to get the RSSI and voltage values to blink when they're below the alarm threshold values. I've tested it with your original code as well, but the blinking still doesn't work. Any ideas?
changosurf is offline Find More Posts by changosurf
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 04, 2014, 02:44 AM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2012
12 Posts
Good morning everyone.
Some time ago I started with the project, but abandoned due to lack of knowledge I have mounted and a half working.
I wanted to try again if I can get it going.
I could tell where is the last image available ??
Connection and outline all the elements ??
my motherboard is a "Rushduino boards"
Many Thanks for your help
bag63 is offline Find More Posts by bag63
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 04, 2014, 01:15 PM
RC Farmer
Farmer_Joe's Avatar
Joined Aug 2011
419 Posts
Dennis, what is wrong with my total distance ?

Farmer_Joe is offline Find More Posts by Farmer_Joe
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2014, 01:02 PM
Registered User
Schweiz, BE, Münchenbuchsee
Joined Jun 2011
290 Posts
HI

It is possible to have the schematic files?
That would be great!

Thank's
Andy
Morphin is online now Find More Posts by Morphin
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2014, 01:04 PM
Flying Wood For Fun
irun4fundotca's Avatar
Canada, ON, Harrowsmith
Joined Jan 2012
7,025 Posts
look on page one! ...you will need eagle installed
irun4fundotca is offline Find More Posts by irun4fundotca
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2014, 04:46 PM
Registered User
Schweiz, BE, Münchenbuchsee
Joined Jun 2011
290 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by irun4fundotca View Post
look on page one! ...you will need eagle installed

Thank's. I have found the gerber files, but not the schematics....

Maybe i'mblind
Morphin is online now Find More Posts by Morphin
Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 03:58 PM
Registered User
Lithuania, Vilnius County, Vilnius
Joined Dec 2006
45 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Morphin View Post
Thank's. I have found the gerber files, but not the schematics....

Maybe i'mblind
Go to Dennis Frie page. There you can find schematics
http://www.student.dtu.dk/~s092916/p...0MAX7456%20OSD
montis is offline Find More Posts by montis
Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 04:50 PM
Registered User
Schweiz, BE, Münchenbuchsee
Joined Jun 2011
290 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by montis View Post
Go to Dennis Frie page. There you can find schematics
http://www.student.dtu.dk/~s092916/p...0MAX7456%20OSD

Thank's. I will have a lookt at his page

Is Denis still working on this?

Andy
Morphin is online now Find More Posts by Morphin
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! OSD version UNKNOWN and fail to update (error) dROb Eagle Tree Systems 9 May 16, 2012 05:12 PM
Sold EASY OSD (Version 1.2) Brand New . $75 shipped. LHTPlane FPV Equipment (FS/W) 7 Mar 20, 2012 10:45 PM
For Sale MAX7456 OSD Break out board. ziomatrixacs FPV Equipment (FS/W) 4 Jun 18, 2011 03:50 PM