Old Nov 19, 2012, 03:46 AM
BDF
United States, Dallas, Texas
Joined Dec 2011
34 Posts
Discussion
MIBO Terminator Build

Hello everyone
New to the forum. Going to put together a new MiBo Terminator that I ordered from David/Esprit. WIll post my build as I have many questions as I start to put it together set everything up. Only got everything spread out now, bits and pieces on order, waiting for my Hacker B40 10S and focusing on getting servos, wiring and control linkages installed.

I got back in the RC hobby a year ago or so. I have a little bit of experience in the hobby, so I'm not a complete newbie. Trying to learn how to fly a TREX 700e now (not sure if I've got the stuff for the helis), got a eFlite Carbon Z, a 3DHS 38 Slick Foamie. As a kid, I flew .40 size planes and "gliders" back in the mid 70's in Spain. Dad was a Wing Commander In Zaragoza. Dad said it was too expensive a hobby until a couple of Master Sergeants told my Dad that I'd be cooped up in my model room on weekends instead of hanging out with other kids smoking hash. They were right and o'l Dad quickly changed his mind.

Sorta got back in the hobby back in the early 90's with some sailplanes. Flew an Airtronics Legend then.

Have always loved the look and grace of a sailplane flying. Want to eventually move into large scale sailplanes too.

So, I spent the day today making up some HS-5125 mounts for my wings. Didn't want to glue the servos in, without being able to get them out. Read where some people shrink wrap and glue them in. I figured that this SP could have huge control surfaces loads (maybe not, deflection may be minimal for flight maneuvers) or a hard landing will pop the servos loose. Pics below.

Here are my first questions about ail/flap control horns, and servo arm positions: