HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 20, 2013, 11:43 PM
Argue for your limitations
ajbaker's Avatar
Lincoln, CA
Joined Oct 2006
8,422 Posts
A question

Quote:
Originally Posted by boopidoo View Post
When it's used in that manner it is definitely an attack IMO. It is quite clearly used in a demeaning way to belittle some elses opinion while trying to boost their own opinion by writing insignificant details about how large threads one started etc... as clear invitation to a pissing contest as I've seen in years. I wonder if anyone really is impressed by that, other then maybe the writer himself?

Sad really... we're not in kindergarten guys.
And that contributes exactly what to the SSS thread? Have you ever used PM's?
ajbaker is offline Find More Posts by ajbaker
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 21, 2013, 12:04 AM
dannylooper
flybydanny's Avatar
United States, TX, Fort Worth
Joined Aug 2011
211 Posts
I'm thinking of running a 4s is it noticeably more power?
I been flying in bout 15 mph wind flys fine takes a bit to get upwind
I have a 60 amp esc, stock motor

Any suggestions?
4s mah size?
Prop size?
flybydanny is offline Find More Posts by flybydanny
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 12:28 AM
Argue for your limitations
ajbaker's Avatar
Lincoln, CA
Joined Oct 2006
8,422 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by flybydanny View Post
I'm thinking of running a 4s is it noticeably more power?
I been flying in bout 15 mph wind flys fine takes a bit to get upwind
I have a 60 amp esc, stock motor

1. Any suggestions?
2. 4s mah size?
3. Prop size?
1. Before you put a 4S LiPo in it, I suggest that you use a separate BEC.
2. A 20-40C 3000mah to 5000mah should work fine.
3. That is best determined by using a watt meter.
AJ
ajbaker is offline Find More Posts by ajbaker
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 12:38 AM
Mobius Cables... I got em'
chanyote66's Avatar
United States, TN, Oak Ridge
Joined Dec 2011
3,873 Posts
Using the stock motor on 4S you dont need much...

My last SSS ran on a 45A Turnigy Trust that has an internal SBEC. It ran on two 2650 20C batteries and drew a max of 43A with a 8x6 APC prop.

My current SSS is running off a 55A Turnigy Trust ESC with the same SBEC, but I am adding a seperate BEC for Two Servos... leaving my wings on the ESC's BEC and the tail on another 3A SBEC. I am using 15c 5000mah batteries.

A 15c battery gives 75A constant draw with 100A peak draw... way more than the stock motor can handle...

To pull more than a 15c 5000mah you need a 1000+ Watt motor, and that would be if you run it at full throttle all the time... a 1400Watt motor would hit the peak amperage if at WOT but would be safe to keep running below 3/4 throttle, and if your SSS needs 1400Watts you are doing some serious upgrades to spars and supports!

For a 3000mah o would agree with ajbaker and say around 20c+

and I agree also with using a Watt meter... too many people blow motors or ESC's by overpowering them with an incorrect prop! Blown ESC means the internal BEC will probably blow as well...

Chris
chanyote66 is offline Find More Posts by chanyote66
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 21, 2013, 12:40 AM
Mobius Cables... I got em'
chanyote66's Avatar
United States, TN, Oak Ridge
Joined Dec 2011
3,873 Posts
Talking about power... Heres 1 wing with its NAV and Flood lights installed

2.4W of Nav LED's and a 3W Flood...

Name: IMG_0104[1].jpg
Views: 92
Size: 169.0 KB
Description:

Name: IMG_0106[1].jpg
Views: 74
Size: 196.4 KB
Description:
chanyote66 is offline Find More Posts by chanyote66
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 21, 2013, 01:28 AM
dannylooper
flybydanny's Avatar
United States, TX, Fort Worth
Joined Aug 2011
211 Posts
Thank you for the replys I do appreciate it

I don't have a watt meter wish I did

Is it a big power difference than a 3s?
flybydanny is offline Find More Posts by flybydanny
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 01:31 AM
AMA - 734492
EricClark's Avatar
United States, MT, Butte
Joined Mar 2007
2,137 Posts
I noticed comments about ailerons locking up in dives and such and I was looking at all the control surfaces and noticed that the foam "hinges" are very stiff and unforgiving! That would cause unnecessary torque that would need to be overcome by the servos on top of air pressure resistance by the higher speeds and to top it all off... the provided linkages on ALL control surfaces are sub par IMO. I cannot speak for the servo's power but even if they put out a whopping unrealistic 100lbs of torque, they would still be ineffective if the servo linkages could not stand up to the pressure of the air and "hinge" resistance. I have ungraded all my linkages and cut off all the control surfaces are rehinged them properly. There is no little to no resistance to move the control surfaces now and the servo will fail before the linkages do. Simple fix for peace of mind.

Also, I realize the SSS is a glider and it will rarely if ever encounter high speed maneuvers, but in certain circumstances (such as a dive) if the hardware is insufficient to give the pilot control over the aircraft, this seems unacceptable. But for $139... I guess I shouldn't complain too loudly.

Eric
EricClark is offline Find More Posts by EricClark
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 01:35 AM
Argue for your limitations
ajbaker's Avatar
Lincoln, CA
Joined Oct 2006
8,422 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by flybydanny View Post
Thank you for the replys I do appreciate it

I don't have a watt meter wish I did

Is it a big power difference than a 3s?
Short answer - Yes. Please get a watt meter ASAP. It is as necessary as your transmitter.
AJ
ajbaker is offline Find More Posts by ajbaker
Last edited by ajbaker; Jan 21, 2013 at 01:40 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 01:37 AM
AMA - 734492
EricClark's Avatar
United States, MT, Butte
Joined Mar 2007
2,137 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by flybydanny View Post
Thank you for the replys I do appreciate it

I don't have a watt meter wish I did

Is it a big power difference than a 3s?
Investing in a watt meter is invaluable, I'd highly recommend it.

Yes. I cannot speak for this aircraft as I haven't flown it, but every other aircraft that I've flown on 3s and upgraded to 4s has shown vast improvements! You get way more power as Watts=Amps x Volts. Lets say you pull 30A on 3s, that would be 330 Watts of power. You drop in a 4s pack and still pull 30A you would have 444 Watts of power. Its a fair jump and you will definitely notice an increase in performance. Hope this helps.

Eric
EricClark is offline Find More Posts by EricClark
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 01:38 AM
dannylooper
flybydanny's Avatar
United States, TX, Fort Worth
Joined Aug 2011
211 Posts
Thanks AJ and Eric

Will do hopefully
flybydanny is offline Find More Posts by flybydanny
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 01:46 AM
AMA - 734492
EricClark's Avatar
United States, MT, Butte
Joined Mar 2007
2,137 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by flybydanny View Post
Any suggestions?
4s mah size?
Prop size?
I'm using a 4s 5000mah pack simply because its what I have and use in other planes. IMO, it never hurts to have some extra battery capacity for longer run times if your plane can handle the weight. The SSS has a wing loading of around 10.5 oz/sq ft so I'm quite confident that it can. Also, a 4s 5000mah pack seems to fit perfectly in the fuselage.

As far as props go, I'm planning on using an APC 8x6 because its a higher quality product than the stock prop. As far as prop size, calculations show the 8x6 should work good and other people have commented that they are using it on their SSS as well.

Eric
EricClark is offline Find More Posts by EricClark
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 01:49 AM
dannylooper
flybydanny's Avatar
United States, TX, Fort Worth
Joined Aug 2011
211 Posts
I to am running apc 8x6 stock prop is junk

What's a good watt meter
flybydanny is offline Find More Posts by flybydanny
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 01:56 AM
AMA - 734492
EricClark's Avatar
United States, MT, Butte
Joined Mar 2007
2,137 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by flybydanny View Post
What's a good watt meter
I have used this for years and it has performed perfectly.

My dad has used this for years and no problems either.

Both perform as advertised. I can't speak for any other brand but I'm sure there are other goods ones out there too.

Eric
EricClark is offline Find More Posts by EricClark
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 01:58 AM
Argue for your limitations
ajbaker's Avatar
Lincoln, CA
Joined Oct 2006
8,422 Posts
Watt meter

Quote:
Originally Posted by flybydanny View Post
I to am running apc 8x6 stock prop is junk

What's a good watt meter
HERE is a great one:
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s..._Analyzer.html
It has more features than a WattsUp and the price is right - ~$25.
AJ
ajbaker is offline Find More Posts by ajbaker
Last edited by ajbaker; Jan 21, 2013 at 02:06 AM. Reason: Add non-embedded link.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 02:00 AM
dannylooper
flybydanny's Avatar
United States, TX, Fort Worth
Joined Aug 2011
211 Posts
Sounds good thanks
flybydanny is offline Find More Posts by flybydanny
Last edited by flybydanny; Jan 21, 2013 at 03:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Banana Hobby BlitzRCWorks Sky Surfer JoshB Electric Plane Talk 12 Feb 14, 2012 11:01 PM
Found Looking for BlitzRCWorks Sky Surfer Airframe Only or Wing Set cutty01 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Aug 16, 2010 03:16 PM
Discussion BlitzRCWorks Sky Surfer Aerobatic Flench Beginner Training Area (Aircraft-Electric) 4 Feb 13, 2010 03:17 PM
Discussion sky surfer powered parachute $29.95 w/ Free shipping interplanet Hot Online Deals 26 Dec 30, 2008 10:58 PM