HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
This thread is privately moderated by billpa, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Old May 23, 2012, 11:41 AM
Winter Sucks!!
romans1015's Avatar
United States, WI, New Berlin
Joined Aug 2002
751 Posts
Read posts 65, 69, 70, 73 from above and lets see what the consensus is.

There seems to be some different opinions as to where the UBEC connection
should be.
One side of course goes to the rx side.

But what about the other end???

Battery side or Esc side of the elogger??




Quote:
Originally Posted by Mykro View Post
..........I lost video !!.. ......I landed the plane and upon further inspection I
found that the deans connector going into my elogger from my flight battery
was not seated all the way in, the connection was not 100%.. intermittent at
best.... But I still had power to the rx, and thereby power to my servos only
because I had my CC BEC connected to the battery cable "feeding" the
elogger!!

In your diagram you have the BEC installed "after the elogger" What if what
happened to me happened to you?? You would have no power to your
elogger. no power to your BEC, therefore no power to your Rx... Your plane
would crash..!

If all else fails.. you need to keep power to the Rx via a BEC (as the diagram
shows..) so that you can maintain control of your plane if for some reason
Sh..&^#..t hits the fan and you lose power to your beloved ET equipment!!

Whatever the reason was for installing your BEC as you did is certainly not
worth the risk of crashing.. or worse yet.. A lost model..!

Quote:
Originally Posted by wannabe View Post
Some observations:
  1. You might consider putting the BEC on the ESC side of the eLogger so
  2. it can read mAh for everything the main battery is supplying power to.
  3. If you are using a 3S main battery, you don't need to send power to the eLogger via BEC.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mykro View Post
.You seem to be confusing the elogger backup
cable with the BEC.. You would be correct in saying that the use of the
battery backup cable is "not used" if you are using the "V4 elogger"..
Where as with the V3 elogger the battery backup cable is
"Recommended" using a 3s battery.. However,.. The BEC does not
provide power to the elogger.! The BEC provides power to the Rx in
case the elogger loses power.. The BEC bypasses the elogger..!
Besides, the BEC is supplying 5 volts to the Rx not 12 volts.
The power supplied by the main battery passes through the elogger and
powers all the components in the plane.. Do we all agree with that?? So
Therefore, this same power makes it's way to power the Rx!.. And since
the BEC is connected to the Rx, the elogger will read any Mah
consumed by the BEC through the Rx anyway!!

So there you have it..!! To use a BEC as intended, you would be by
default, connecting "any" BEC to the ESC side of the elogger by
connecting the BEC to an open channel on your Rx.. But you must
power the BEC "before" or on the battery side of the elogger ...
..


Quote:
Originally Posted by Crist Rigotti View Post
The problem with wiring it this way is that
the total ma used would be incorrect because the radio system draw won't be
included.
romans1015 is offline Find More Posts by romans1015
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old May 24, 2012, 09:21 PM
Team Park Pilot - Airborne
OzparkPilot's Avatar
Australia, NSW, Sydney
Joined Nov 2006
4,532 Posts
What BEC would work best here please ? Im running 6 servos + my ET stuff in a Sky Surfer.
OzparkPilot is offline Find More Posts by OzparkPilot
Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2012, 11:44 PM
yakum smakum
stevo6739615's Avatar
United States, FL, Naples
Joined Jan 2012
48 Posts
Hey Guys,
What thread should I post to so I can get some help with RTH?

Thanks,
Steve S. Naples, Florida USA
stevo6739615 is offline Find More Posts by stevo6739615
Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2012, 03:32 AM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2011
399 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by romans1015 View Post
Read posts 65, 69, 70, 73 from above and lets see what the consensus is.

There seems to be some different opinions as to where the UBEC connection
should be.
One side of course goes to the rx side.

But what about the other end???

Battery side or Esc side of the elogger??
esc side.
freshmint is offline Find More Posts by freshmint
Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2012, 03:36 AM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2011
399 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by garris2 View Post
Usually an ESC has a BEC built into in which case you either don't need the UBEC that you have connected to the Receiver battery input, or you need to disconnect the red wire coming out of your ESC.

If you go with disconnecting the ESC red wire and use the UBEC, you should connect the UBEC input to the ESC side of the eLogger such that the eLogger will also record your UBEC's current.

You should also consider removing the ground wire connected to the UBEC as this completes a ground loop path created in conjunction with the ground wire in the Throttle Out - ESC path.

Yes, your Camera and Mic are getting power from your second battery through the OSD Pro. This is called 'Pass-Through'.

You can remove the second battery and power all from your main pack but be sure to make the changes above to remove the ground loop.

Geoff
If I'm using the CC bec 10A do I still remove the ground wire on the ubec?
freshmint is offline Find More Posts by freshmint
Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2012, 09:40 AM
Registered User
Melbourne, Australia
Joined Jan 2008
1,050 Posts
Yes.
garris2 is offline Find More Posts by garris2
Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2012, 10:19 AM
Winter Sucks!!
romans1015's Avatar
United States, WI, New Berlin
Joined Aug 2002
751 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by freshmint View Post
esc side.
Ok, but what about what Mykro said, that if you connect it to the ESC side and
you lose power to the BEC you will also lose power to your receiver and control of your plane!

To me it makes sense to keep power to the receiver via the BEC so that you can
maintain control of your plane.

The only problem with that as Crist says is the total ma used would be incorrect because the
radio system draw won't be included.

But wouldn't the radio system draw be included through the Elogger or where
the Ubec is plugged into the receiver

We need to get the answer to this nailed down so that we can all be wiring this up the best possible way

Randy
romans1015 is offline Find More Posts by romans1015
Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2012, 12:20 PM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2011
399 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by garris2 View Post
Yes.
Remove the cc bec ground wire?
freshmint is offline Find More Posts by freshmint
Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2012, 12:25 PM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2011
399 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by romans1015 View Post
Ok, but what about what Mykro said, that if you connect it to the ESC side and
you lose power to the BEC you will also lose power to your receiver and control of your plane!

To me it makes sense to keep power to the receiver via the BEC so that you can
maintain control of your plane.

The only problem with that as Crist says is the total ma used would be incorrect because the
radio system draw won't be included.

But wouldn't the radio system draw be included through the Elogger or where
the Ubec is plugged into the receiver

We need to get the answer to this nailed down so that we can all be wiring this up the best possible way

Randy
Well think about it you would lose power to the rx either way right?
freshmint is offline Find More Posts by freshmint
Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2012, 12:55 PM
Registered User
cuprum's Avatar
Joined Mar 2012
21 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by romans1015 View Post
But wouldn't the radio system draw be included through the Elogger or where
the Ubec is plugged into the receiver
Very good question
Because, by the book only correct wiring must include at least 2 bat's. The main point is, that You must keep the current trough logger 0 during the startup - self calibrating! And cause of that... if You connect something "electronic" behind the logger - You don't have a correct "zero". Ok, maybe if this something is disconnected during start and plugged in afterwards.
If You have only a receiver - no big problem, but the video sender can consume a quite huge amount of power....
cuprum is offline Find More Posts by cuprum
Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2012, 10:38 PM
Registered User
Joined May 2007
107 Posts
Help! Need your expertise...

FPV NEWBIE HERE.....

I would be forever in debt to you if you would take the time to look at my diagram and give me your thoughts. Anyone?

ALSO... Would I have a problem using the "Basic Seup" while still running my servos through the eLogger? I guess what I'm asking is, to run the basic setup I should just not use all the parameters/bells and whistles at first right?.. Just want to get up and running first.

Thank you for your time.... Tim
TBello is offline Find More Posts by TBello
Last edited by TBello; May 30, 2012 at 09:03 AM. Reason: Adding an element
Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2012, 12:21 AM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2011
399 Posts
I dont necessary need a mic to use the OSD Pro’s voice feature correct? So does the audio out on the OSD need ground from the vtx?

I am using this Regulator for my LM vtx whats the correct way to wire audio to the OSD PRO?
http://www.nghobbies.com/cart/index....roducts_id=659

Would there be a ground loop if I connect video connector pin 1/3 to video out on osd pro and pin 1/4 to audio out on osd pro?
freshmint is offline Find More Posts by freshmint
Last edited by freshmint; May 27, 2012 at 12:35 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2012, 02:47 PM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2011
399 Posts
What is this weird lines?

freshmint is offline Find More Posts by freshmint
Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2012, 06:06 PM
ScratchCrasher
sfakias's Avatar
Greece, Central Macedonia, Thessalonika
Joined Jun 2008
579 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by freshmint View Post
What is this weird lines?

Try adjusting the black and white levels and they should disappear.

Regards,
Stavros

EDIT: I now see that you already got the same answer in the other thread...
sfakias is offline Find More Posts by sfakias
Last edited by sfakias; May 27, 2012 at 06:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2012, 06:51 PM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2011
399 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sfakias View Post
Try adjusting the black and white levels and they should disappear.

Regards,
Stavros

EDIT: I now see that you already got the same answer in the other thread...
thanks
do you know what this is?

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...postcount=8736
freshmint is offline Find More Posts by freshmint
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Please post your brushless motor pole count here billpa Eagle Tree Systems 86 May 10, 2014 03:35 PM
Discussion Please post photos of your sensor installations here! billpa Eagle Tree Systems 8 Jul 09, 2011 06:21 AM
Discussion Post your small flying field video here! Lafayette Aerial Photography 38 Sep 05, 2010 02:46 AM
Help! Noob needs help wiring elogger-v3/OSD Pro Mykro Eagle Tree Systems 7 Jun 25, 2010 01:59 AM
PLEASE post pics of your Tiger Moths here!! JREEVES Parkflyers 3 Oct 26, 2001 10:51 PM