HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Nov 12, 2009, 09:11 AM
Syracuse, NY (USA)
Joined Dec 2004
2,724 Posts
Discussion
throttle won't turn off all the way

I should have posted this question in here first - oops.

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...7#post13562677

A few times my motor has still been on (slightly) during landing/gliding, but the throttle stick/gimble is all the way down.

I had throttle trim set to default (zero) the first time this occured then set it to -11 for awhile, but the problem happened again.

I am using a new Optic 6 Tx and new Berg 7. My trusty Hitec Flash 5 Tx and Hitec 555 rx never did anything weird like this. I have been using the same old Phoenix 25 on this plane for a few years w/o issues and have not changed any ESC settings in years.

I do not recall this happening (so far anyhow) with my other planes (using the new Optic 6). My other planes use Berg 4L and Hitec 555 receivers.

I have one or two ideas of what the problem could be. I have not checked the ESC's auto throttle detection/calibration setting. Maybe it is not set to "auto" (auto would likely work). I have not changed any settings in the ESC though in years and it worked until I upgraded to the optic 6 and berg 7.

Another symptom is that the RF link failed for a few seconds during a flight - very scary. I wonder if the link fails often but I do not notice it, and because of that failure, the throttle gets recalibrated (incorrectly) by the ESC. I'm hoping the link failure was due to me perhaps pointing the antenna towards the plane (but my flash 5 Tx / 555 Rx combo never had issues).
Block is offline Find More Posts by Block
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 12, 2009, 09:42 AM
Castle Support
USA, GA, Statesboro
Joined Oct 2007
953 Posts
Try Throttle on fixed-endpoint