New Products Flash Sale
Old Apr 23, 2015, 10:20 AM
Find More Posts by enjuhner357
Joined Apr 2015
2 Posts
Discussion
Thermoelectric/Peltier Device Discharger w/Low Voltage Cutoff Circuit

Hi all! So this is my first post as I just joined, but I have been lurking reading info here and there for a while. There's definitely some good info on here but I'm needing some extra help. My DIY electronic skills are good when it comes to reading schematics, soldering, the physical build, and multi-meter use. However, my background is mechanical engineering so my electronics design/calculation skills are lacking.

I have a 7S li-ion battery I want to discharge at >6A with thermoelectric/Peltier module(s). I'd like to build a voltage cutoff circuit that goes between the battery pack and the Peltier module(s) that will disconnect the load once the battery reaches 25.2V for storage purposes. Is this concept possible?

If possible, can a single cutoff circuit handle a single large Peltier module or X number in parallel to achieve a 10-15 amp discharge rate? Or would parallel cutoff voltage circuits need to be designed? Right now I'm using a 24V headlamp to discharge the battery at approximately 2.1 amps...not ideal as it takes a good while.

I've read that there are different ways of building such circuits but my lack of understanding of the interaction between components prevents me from designing. TL431 vs. op amp vs. MOSFET...I've read datasheets of these components on Digikey but don't really know how to apply that information to my project.

I have read this thread and helped me understand a bit more: http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=725572

Any input is much appreciated! Thank you in advance!
enjuhner357 is offline Find More Posts by enjuhner357
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 30, 2015, 05:36 AM
Find More Posts by jakestew
United States, ID
Joined Sep 2011
886 Posts
Curious why you think a Peltier would be a good idea?