SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old May 06, 2015, 03:34 PM
Find More Posts by WestCoastD
Joined Apr 2014
110 Posts
Discussion
New Radio Systems and Support Gear

I'm an old-school modeler (from the 1970's) just getting back into flying. Actually I'm a much more experienced rc boater/racer.

Anyway, I still own much of my original rc gear (mostly form 1980's), including- radio control systems (mostly Airtronics), engines, model kits (airplane, boat and car models), as well as radio control support gear. I've since sold-off my 1980's Airtronics radio gear, and have purchased new systems (Airtronics Aquila 6-ch Computer Radio for aircraft, Airtronics M12 Competition Pistol Radio for boats and cars).

I still have my extensive collection of (original) Ace R/C gear, including- Ace HD 500 charger, Ace Digipace I (Heavy Duty) charger/cycler, Ace R/C ChargeMaster, and other assorted electronics support devices.

Moreover I recently purchased new 6v NiMH Rx battery packs from SR Batteries, a popular after-market custom nicad pack builder (going back to 1970's):
http://www.srbatteries.com/rxpks.htm

I'm figuring this way I could still employ my original Ace charging/cycling gear. I've never experienced any issues with my original NiMH packs, and figured it should'nt make any difference over using LiPO or LiFe packs.

I'm wondering if I should continue to support traditional nicad components or switch everything to new LiPO or LiFe packs? Which means (really) dumping all my old Ace R/C gear (and several NiMH packs)?
WestCoastD is online now Find More Posts by WestCoastD
to remove ads between posts
Old May 06, 2015, 07:21 PM
Find More Posts by davidmc36
No bounce, No play.
Canada, ON, Ottawa
Joined Oct 2010
4,236 Posts