Old Mar 25, 2016, 10:44 AM
Find More Posts by beaver06054
United States, MI, Adrian
Joined Jun 2013
41 Posts
Discussion
Fish tailing problems

Hey guys,

I am new to motorcycles. I just got a thunder tiger fm1e and put one of the NF Hydraulic Steering Shock X260 with hard springs and in a straight away it holds good. However when I do a turn and accelerate the bike fish tails a lot. I see a lot of you tubes with motorcycles accelerating fast with no problems. I need a front break too but would at least like to get the steering figured out first.

I am told the Nuova bikes don't have this problem with just the NF Hydraulic Steering Shock X260. What makes the 2 bikes different in the respect?

Thanks for your help
beaver06054 is offline Find More Posts by beaver06054
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 25, 2016, 11:06 AM
Find More Posts by DLAWW
DLAWW
United States, CA, Gardena
Joined Dec 2005
1,034 Posts
Is the body touching the ground, that's one of many reasons it will fish tail in a turn. Other reasons and any one can add to this:
2. Grip
3. Triple clamps out of line, or cracked.
4. Oil is to light in dampner or not enough.
5. Something loose on front end or back end check screws all around bike.
DLAWW is offline Find More Posts by DLAWW
Old Mar 25, 2016, 11:13 AM
Find More Posts by dragbikebam
Memphis, TN USA
Joined Apr 2009
1,155 Posts
Stock tires? If so thats probably the problem.
dragbikebam is offline Find More Posts by dragbikebam
Old Mar 25, 2016, 01:05 PM
Joined Jun 2013
41 Posts
Guys,

Thanks for the input. I think the front fork area/shocks have more movement than I'd like. Don't know if I can do much about that.

I have the side wire to stop the bike from leaning all the way over. Not sure if anything is rubbing.

I have stock tires on it.

The hydraulic steering shock may very well not have enough oil in it. Never would have thought of that. It comes with a clear oil. What would you recommend? Anything I could pick up local?