Old Oct 15, 2015, 08:03 PM
Find More Posts by dilan12345
Joined Oct 2015
1 Posts
Discussion
How does the depth affect the signal with the sub and RC?

The questions in the title. I want to know the scientific reason to why and how the signal gets effected when you go deeper down in normal and salt water.

thanks in advance.
dilan12345 is offline Find More Posts by dilan12345
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 16, 2015, 12:39 AM
Find More Posts by tchalfant
United States, NV, Las Vegas
Joined Aug 2011
604 Posts
What research have you done? I am not a scientist, but have working knowledge and a very layman's view. The duh statement is water is much denser than air. So a signal that can go as far as you can see in air, you might get 15 - 20 feet in clear water. For the signals that do propagate through water (lower frequencies), like air the further away from the source of the signal the weaker it gets. Salt water has a lot of particulates dissolved in it and those absorb the signal quicker - like walking in the fog, you can not see very far because of all the moisture suspended in the air. A heavily chlorinated pool is one slightly better than salt water. Is this what you are asking about?
tchalfant is offline Find More Posts by tchalfant
Old Oct 16, 2015, 09:15 PM
Find More Posts by CG Bob
KC8WPF
Euclid, Ohio, United States
Joined Sep 2004
4,277 Posts
Some guys have run their subs as deep as 30 feet in a fresh water filled rock quarry. Scuba divers were alongside the subs and verified the depth.

In swimming pools, you can expect to have complete control down to a depth of 3-5 feet. The control depth depends on the chorine and other chemicals used to keep the water clean. If you get below the control depth you lose radio signal - and wait for the fail safe to activate an emergency surface.
CG Bob is online now Find More Posts by CG Bob
Old Oct 21, 2015, 11:41 AM
Find More Posts by DKNguyen
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Joined Oct 2008
723 Posts
Quote: