HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Apr 10, 2012, 01:26 PM
United States, AL, Emelle
Joined Feb 2012
198 Posts
Discussion
Glow smoke systems: 2 & 4 stroke

I'm new to smoke systems and would like some advice from the experienced smokers here. I would like to run a pump less smoke system on a four stroke, but I bought a Dubro super smoker kit and it states that it will not work on a four stroke? I will be experimenting with this kit and would like to know the best setup to use such as where to pull my pressure from and how to plumb in the smoke line. Thanks ahead.
Alex Koehn is offline Find More Posts by Alex Koehn
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 12, 2012, 12:16 AM
TigreJohn
United States, CA, Corona
Joined Aug 2008
996 Posts
A four stroke does not provide enough muffler or crankcase pressure to drive a smoke system. Your alternatives are a Sullivan Smoke Pump ($96 new) or a cheaper Perry VP-40 "shaker" pump. Its mounted to the engine backplate and uses engine vibration to pump the smoke oil. Don't know how much they cost now, and have not seen one in operation. But be advised that there are two available of each brand, one for glow fuel, one for gas and smoke oil.

One advantage with the Sullivan is you can control on & off with your transmitter. With the Perry, its always on when the engine is running unless you can devise a smoke oil flow cutoff.
jjkupinski is offline Find More Posts by jjkupinski
Old Apr 12, 2012, 06:43 AM
Joined Feb 2012
198 Posts
Thanks for the info. Guess I'll just run this on one of my two strokes. Is it normal to tap into the backplate for crankcase pressure?
Old Apr 12, 2012, 10:29 AM
TigreJohn
Joined Aug 2008
996 Posts
Usually the wall of the backplate is too thin to drill and tap. If your backplate has a has a boss or thick spot that is provided for that purpose-good. Depending on your engine size, you might be able to mount a pressure tap thru the side of the mounting lugs, I have a ST S2000 that is set up that way.