New Products Flash Sale
Old May 24, 2015, 10:07 PM
Find More Posts by djmessina
United States, NV, Las Vegas
Joined Apr 2015
58 Posts
Help!
CPPM Confusion!!

Hey all! So, let me start off by saying that YES, I'm a total newbie! Have a lot of experience with RC cars, but quads are a different story. Anyway, I've completed the build of my first racing quadcopter, and it's badass! All I need is to purchase a radio. I've been totally set on going with the Taranis. I've even bought the FrSky D4R-ii receiver in anticipation of my Taranis purchase. BUT, for financial reasons, I need to go cheaper. Now, I decided to go for a Turnigy 9X, but lo and behold, they're on backorder EVERYWHERE!! My question is: what other radio brands are capable of using CPPM so that I may use the receiver I already bought? And I have a rough idea what CPPM is. It enables you to reduce the number of receiver wires you need, right? But that's all I know. What I wonder is if I could use a Futaba, Tactic, Spektrum, etc. with my D4R receiver?? Cuz I have friends selling some radios, but I don't know if I could use them. Can someone take a second a help me out? I'm frustrated. LOL!! Thanks guys!!
djmessina is offline Find More Posts by djmessina
to remove ads between posts
Old May 24, 2015, 10:26 PM
Find More Posts by Hajile
Philippines, Calabarzon, San Pedro
Joined Jul 2012
5,808 Posts
It's not CPPM you're looking for, it's a frsky radio module. And the 9X does not support a frsky receiver out of the box.

What you need is either this (JR module)

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...8FR_II_RX.html

Or this (Futaba module)

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...Module_RX.html

and a controller that has a big hole in the back that accepts either of those.

BTW, the 9X is designed for a JR type module.

How about looking for a 9XR? It's the same price anyway, only difference is that the 9X comes with a radio module, but since you're going to be using a frsky module, it shouldn't matter.