SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Oct 13, 2014, 03:03 PM
Joined Feb 2009
125 Posts
Help!
Help me select a motor and prop for 30 year old Telemaster

Hey guys. I am new to electric planes. I am building a couple this fall.

I have a 30 year old Telemaster 66" 4 channel plane, that I built with my grandpa when I was a kid. It flew once with the .40 K&B engine way back then, and sat broken for many years. I have recently removed the engine, repaired and recovered the plane, and it is in great shape! I want to convert it to electric motor for obivous reasons, but I don't know what motor would appropriate.

The plane originally used a 10x6 prop, if I recall correctly. I also have many 3S 2200mah Lipo batteries from my heli's, that I would like to use, if I can. Maybe run two batteries?

Can someone recommend a budget brushless motor and prop for my Telemaster? I am hoping to find something at HobbyKing, since I need to make an order from there anyway. It weighs about 4.25 lbs, without a motor/battery/esc, but with servos. It is a high wing 4 channel trainer type plane.

Thanks in advance!
Jimbo45 is offline Find More Posts by Jimbo45
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 14, 2014, 01:01 PM
Joined Feb 2009
125 Posts
nobody? I think I can manage selecting a good motor now, but still have no idea what kind of mount. Ugh. Maybe I will just go with a nitro engine again.
Old Oct 14, 2014, 02:49 PM
United States, NC, Chapel Hill
Joined Sep 2009
332 Posts
Check this post
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...8&postcount=11
for suggestions on how to size the components.
As for brands,
I have use SK3 motors from HK and generally I am happy with them.
For ESCs, I use the Red Brick. They are cheap BUT they need to be inspected before using them, which involves cutting the wrap and making sure the
aluminum plate on the back size (that is, the side opposite to the FETs) does not
touch the + and - wires
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2240626