SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 13, 2012, 01:29 PM
Registered User
Denmark, Region Zealand, Terslev
Joined Apr 2008
272 Posts
That sucks big time x2

Looking forward to more build/quality reviews before I order mine after new year.

Peter
psindrup is offline Find More Posts by psindrup
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 13, 2012, 03:30 PM
Albuquerque USA
United States, NM, Albuquerque
Joined Dec 2012
2,028 Posts
The best this thing could turn into without worry about break clamp is turn it into a Y6 this will be beautiful I tried to put it together before I bolt these down and it look quite good. Would need 2 extra aluminum clamp. The one that clamp the main boom and drill some holes on the two plate and we good. When I find out about the missing parts I went and look for a second hex carbon fold and found the Carboncore 650 look really good but my carbon prop are 12.45 so it won't fit well. Because with this frame my prop have 1.5inch clearance between the two prop. So I figure with the 650 and the 680 that 1.2" shorter. To me I think put more money to the Carboncore and have the motor cover on the boom too look good also
Askyvision is offline Find More Posts by Askyvision
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2012, 05:41 PM
Registered User
United Kingdom, England, Maidstone
Joined Nov 2012
107 Posts
latest stickers

just cut some new stickers with the refined artwork
madoldgit is offline Find More Posts by madoldgit
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2012, 10:51 PM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2012
22 Posts
hi Madoldgit

FC, ESC and motor what would you use for FY680?
may I know

thank's
fajaranakku is offline Find More Posts by fajaranakku
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 01:54 AM
g0t rabb1t?
ABLomas's Avatar
Lietuva, Vilnius
Joined Jul 2011
1,625 Posts
Could someone measure exact dimensions between opposite motor axis (when clamps are on end of legs)?
I'm searching for frame to fit 16" props (with modifications)...
ABLomas is online now Find More Posts by ABLomas
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 02:48 AM
Albuquerque USA
United States, NM, Albuquerque
Joined Dec 2012
2,028 Posts
It not gonna fit 16"prop my 12"prop have 1.5" clearance between two prop
Askyvision is offline Find More Posts by Askyvision
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 03:39 AM
Registered User
United Kingdom, England, Maidstone
Joined Nov 2012
107 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fajaranakku View Post
hi Madoldgit

FC, ESC and motor what would you use for FY680?
may I know

thank's
Hi I'm going to use my Crius SE fc with some cheap MYSTERY 2212 1000kv motors and MYSTERY 30a ESC's and 1045 props. Would like better motor/esc's but money is tight at the moment!!
madoldgit is offline Find More Posts by madoldgit
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 04:15 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2012
22 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by madoldgit View Post
Hi I'm going to use my Crius SE fc with some cheap MYSTERY 2212 1000kv motors and MYSTERY 30a ESC's and 1045 props. Would like better motor/esc's but money is tight at the moment!!
bold : me too

I also had a desire to build hexa, with minimal funds, but still confused want to use any frame
fajaranakku is offline Find More Posts by fajaranakku
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 06:17 PM
SMILE you're being recorded :)
Velociraptor73's Avatar
Joined Apr 2010
754 Posts
Nice little frame! But anyone else received the kit with too short screws to mount the aluminium boom clamps in the frame? Worst part is I can't find correct size (2.5mmx30mm as in the "manual") at screw shops here! GLB said they will send me correct size next week but it will take weeks to arrive.

My Y6 project will have to wait until 2013!

And it may be a good idea to wash the carbon plates before handling, they came covered in very thin carbon dust.
Velociraptor73 is offline Find More Posts by Velociraptor73
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 06:24 PM
Registered User
Denmark, Region Zealand, Terslev
Joined Apr 2008
272 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by madoldgit View Post
Hi I'm going to use my Crius SE fc with some cheap MYSTERY 2212 1000kv motors and MYSTERY 30a ESC's and 1045 props. Would like better motor/esc's but money is tight at the moment!!
But don't we need motors that can run on 4S on our FY680?

I am desperately looking for affordable 1000KV motors that can run on 4S

Thanks

Peter
psindrup is offline Find More Posts by psindrup
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 09:30 PM
SMILE you're being recorded :)
Velociraptor73's Avatar
Joined Apr 2010
754 Posts
psindrup, why 1000kv with 4S ? Do you have any specific propellers in mind?
Velociraptor73 is offline Find More Posts by Velociraptor73
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 10:18 PM
Registered User
marcin.gala's Avatar
Joined Jun 2010
428 Posts
Just order mine today from foxtech and like to use my Lipos 4S 5000mAh on this together with NAZA.
Also what gimbal do You guys recommend for that frame ??
marcin.gala is offline Find More Posts by marcin.gala
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 12:05 AM
SMILE you're being recorded :)
Velociraptor73's Avatar
Joined Apr 2010
754 Posts
I'm looking for a way to adapt an AG550 underneath. Not the easiest task as it doesn't have much places to anchor things underneath the lower main plate and the building is not as rigid as I expected. Tarot engineers could have made it much better in some ways but I guess they decided to focus in the foldable feature. I'm also considering to use it's own rails to adapt the a gimbal support. But although I come from a family of engineers, I'm not much of a DIY fan. I much prefer to enjoy using good stuff than making them myself :P

AV130 could be another option but also would need an adapter. It may not have the same performance of AG models but it's probably easier to work with and a bit lighter if I'm not mistaken.

And this frame still have to be tested with such payload to see how it will behave.
For Y6 it will need at least new flat clamps on both sides and longer screws to hold motors support.
Velociraptor73 is offline Find More Posts by Velociraptor73
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 12:56 AM
Registered User
Hong Kong
Joined Sep 2004
583 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Velociraptor73 View Post
For Y6 it will need at least new flat clamps on both sides and longer screws to hold motors support.
Just looking from the pictures, you should be able to use the two halves with the flats and simple not use the U shape on the bottom. However you will have to use very long through bolts to clamp everything together.....
dtm360 is online now Find More Posts by dtm360
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 02:45 AM
SMILE you're being recorded :)
Velociraptor73's Avatar
Joined Apr 2010
754 Posts
Thats true dtm360, totally forgot there would be left over upper clamps to use at the bottom if doing a Y6.

Guess I need some sleep!

Thanks!
Velociraptor73 is offline Find More Posts by Velociraptor73
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Interested in getting a Mikrokopter hex or a droidworx hex. How hard is set up? LMAO Multirotor Talk 8 Dec 28, 2010 08:47 AM
Discussion Tarot 450SE V2 GF helipr0 Mini Helis 12 Oct 19, 2009 05:47 PM
Discussion Tarot 450SE V2 GF Kit? carmen5.3 Electric Heli Talk 8 Sep 18, 2009 09:54 AM
Discussion Align, Tarot, CopterX edfardos Electric Heli Talk 4 Mar 14, 2009 12:15 AM
For Sale Tarot 450 V2 KIT KS-Model Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 5 Nov 10, 2008 11:16 AM