HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 26, 2013, 12:43 AM
Joined Jan 2013
2 Posts
Discussion
Recommendation Required from experienced EDF gury

I am new to EDFs and this forum. So accept my apologies for any mistakes I make.

I am looking for micro EDF (any from 30mm to 40 mm dia) with the most trust but limited to 150W power. Unlike the fellow RC people I intend to use it for static indoors application where weight is not the issue. As mater of fact I would like to power it with the power adapter 150 W. I can select from standard voltage e.g. (12V & 12.5A or 24V & 7.5 A)

I am looking for the standard EDF w motor with power 120W-150W or if someone can guide me how to make adequate pair or FAN and Brushless Motor

Additionally I intend to have exhaust nozzle to bring the jet down to dia 12mm (1/2 in). So let me repharse I need max trust after the nozzle.

Motor / EDF will run on full available power (max rpm ) for several minutes. No rpm control is required. (once again this is static application) it should go full blast while powered.

1. What would be the best size FAN to get the most trust with limit of 150 W max considering the outlet nozzle
2. If set is not recommended can one specify brushless motor for this and what would be the best rating kv?
3. How does one select FAN for specified motor
4. Does any one have experience dealing directly with manufacturers?
5. Since the rpm does not need to be controlled do I still need to use ESC ?
6. Are there any consideration if EDF is used with power adapter?
7. Is trust proportional to the power and how size of the fan affects it?

THANK YOU!!!!
Static EDF is offline Find More Posts by Static EDF
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 26, 2013, 05:04 AM
Guernsey
Joined Jan 2002
1,308 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Static EDF View Post
Additionally I intend to have exhaust nozzle to bring the jet down to dia 12mm (1/2 in). So let me repharse I need max trust after the nozzle.