HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Feb 17, 2015, 11:38 AM
United States, IL, Downers Grove
Joined Sep 2008
50 Posts
Discussion
Combat Models F-16N

Maybe you guys have heard this kicked around before, but I have a vintage Combat Models F-16 foam airframe that was designed for a glow pusher engine. After looking at the fuse, I really feel I can modify it for an air inlet and EDF unit. I have a 90mm wemotec unit on hand. I have heard people say online that it can't be done, but I say phooey to the naysayers ! I've learned building scratch foam models that the only limit is your own imagination! Anyone know or hear of this mod having been done on this jet?
speed20 is offline Find More Posts by speed20
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 17, 2015, 12:14 PM
world's slowest builder
CA
Joined Oct 2006
1,173 Posts
I don't recall someone doing a thread on an EDF conversion, but many have flown it on electric brushless pusher. It can certainly be done. My mind goes straight to the intake area which is likely not enough. No worries, in would run a bell mouth over a rear mounted fan. The gear doors (if you are planning on retractable gear) will allow more air for takeoff. The other consideration is where to put the batteries. On the f-16 you usually put them behind the canopy, above the intake. I would think 8S or 10S and 2500 to 3000 watts would fly this really nice on an HET 650, 1400-1500 KV range. Post some pictures of the fuselage insides if you can. I have the CM A-10 NIB I still need to finish. That one is pretty east to put a Couple 70-80 mm fans in.
Air-Jon is offline Find More Posts by Air-Jon
Old Feb 17, 2015, 12:29 PM
A-4 nut!!
Vancouver B.C.
Joined Apr 2002
4,697 Posts
It's been tried - with horrible results.