SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Apr 30, 2012, 08:11 AM
United States, MD, Elkton
Joined Oct 2011
9,200 Posts
Discussion
Enlarged Sparky-114 "

Sometimes you just have to try it !
There's an electrified Sparky,at 64" that caught my eye,making me wish it was larger,though.
So I carried the plans to be enlarged to roughly 1/4 scale,if there had been a full sized one.
At 175% of the original model's size,this resulted in a 114" wingspan.
Another thread asked about scaling up a 24" model to 48",and the associated problems.
I should inject here,that I've been enlarging plans since 1977,beginning with the enlargement of a Sterling Piper Super Cruiser to 12',twice the size of the original.
Sterling's models were built with hard balsa,which allowed dull die-cutters to force their way thriugh the wood.(die crunched kits),we called 'em.
INSERT: WHEN I STARTED THIS THREAD,I THOUGHT SPARKY WAS ORIGINALLY 64"...NOT 32"....Sorry...now your math will work..
epoxyearl is offline Find More Posts by epoxyearl
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by epoxyearl; Nov 05, 2012 at 04:43 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 30, 2012, 08:25 AM
Joined Oct 2011
9,200 Posts
bigger pieces

Sterling Models built strong,hefty models ideal for my flying style.I like scale flying,mostly 'circle-plane' stuff,just relaxing.
Enlarging those plans resulted in learning ways to reduce the size of the timbers that were presented....a 1/4 x 1/2 spar didn't need to be 1/2 x 1" now.
So in the case of the spars,they could remain at 1/4 x 1/2",but now with shear webbing added.....stronger,with less weight.
1/8" thick ribs could still be used in the wing and tail,and the sheeting didn't need to be thicker either.

ENTER SPARKY..The first thought I had,on seeing the larger plans,was that here was another model that would not need a lot of modifying.