Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Sep 28, 2012, 07:26 AM
Culpeper, VA
Joined Oct 2005
692 Posts
Discussion
Starting IMAC Basic

I've been reading up on what IMAC is and I had a good idea what it was but after going to the IMAC site last night and reading more into IMAC basic....I'm wanting to get started. I've been flying for a few years and want more of a purpose for flying other than the enjoyment of the hobby and flying. I'm currently building my first gasser a 30cc 3DHS AJ Slick. I like the 3D stuff but have more of a interest in IMAC. Will this be a good air frame to get started in IMAC or is there another air frame that would be better to start out with? One of the air frames I've been looking at is the AW 30cc Edge 540. My goal is to maybe build a 50cc plane next maybe this winter of next year sometime. I posted this same thread over on FG to get additional feedback. Thanks! I appreciate the feedback!
RC_Feen is offline Find More Posts by RC_Feen
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 28, 2012, 05:22 PM
Joined Oct 2011
241 Posts
The AJ will do the basic sequence just fine. Pay careful attention to setup. Goals for the airplane are to fly strait and level at power settings from 1/3 to full throttle with no trim changes. Up lines should require a touch of right rudder only, there should be no pitch deviation during a roll. Once you have the airplane set up correctly it's a matter of practice practice, practice. Always have someone with you while practicing that can give honest, objective feedback on the spot. You will quickly find that keeping wings level and defining horizontal, vertical and 45 degree lines is not an easy take but is the basis of all competitive aerobatic flying.
exf3bguy is offline Find More Posts by exf3bguy
Old Oct 26, 2012, 05:05 PM
Arlington, TX
Joined Jul 2009
1,242 Posts