SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Jul 25, 2008, 06:16 PM
Dreaming Weasel Dreams
Tucson, AZ
Joined Sep 2003
433 Posts
Discussion
Electronics suggestion for a Chunky (Slope) Monkey?

I haven't built it yet, in fact I just ordered it today, but soon I'll be the proud owner of a new 1.9# slope monkey (www.wyowindworks.com, i think) and I also ordered the heavier 10mil New Stuff to cover it with. I believe the website recommends 9g servos and a 6ch micro receiver, but does anyone have specific recommendations? On my Weasel-Pro I went for the gusto with HS-85MG's and a Polk Seeker-6, but I'm hoping to spend a little less on the flight electronics for my monkey. I expect it to come out on the chunky side since I selected heavy foam and heavy covering material, and I'm a newbie builder to boot. I'm guessing the difference between a 9.5oz and a 13oz monkey won't really affect servo selection though?

thanks,
Rick
Rick Lindsey is offline Find More Posts by Rick Lindsey
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 26, 2008, 03:02 AM
The sky is my playground
Near the Ocean in Hunt. Beach Calif.
Joined Apr 2006
999 Posts
I just finished my 13 ounce Slope Monkey and will give a flying report tomorrow night Hope this thing flies!! Jimmi in Hunt. Beach
flyboyjimi is offline Find More Posts by flyboyjimi
Old Jul 28, 2008, 05:26 PM
Just fly it!
Cody, WY
Joined Nov 2007
6,915 Posts
Rick, I've been using these little things in my Slope Monkeys: Hextronik 900.

I've yet to strip one. I know of over 10 people that are using them in Slope Monkeys.

The Slope Monkey isn't worth expensive servos, IMO.

Adam
wyowindworks is offline Find More Posts by wyowindworks
Old Jul 28, 2008, 05:52 PM
The sky is my playground
Joined Apr 2006
999 Posts