Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Jul 25, 2008, 02:57 PM
Joined Jul 2008
2 Posts
Question
DIY Sailplane

Hello all - Newbie here.
I've spent a long time looking at all the currently available sailplanes, and decided that most of them are well outside my financial reach. I've had a go at designing/making my own, and tried the first version out this evening. It seems to fly on the local slope really well (Flew for about 20 mins). Compared to the cool stuff you can go out and buy, it's probably rough and ready, but I'm happy with the way the design has come out. Its all cheap - Old model rocket nose cone, bit of 1 1/4 inch plastic pipe, bits of carbon rod Etc, and fittings I've made using a milling machine. My question is, do other folks do this, and what areas can lurk in to get clues/pointers as to how to make the designs better?
Sorry if it seems a stupid question... but you gotta try somewhere!
Lardie is offline Find More Posts by Lardie
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 25, 2008, 03:41 PM
≡LSF8067≡
Bedford, TX
Joined Oct 2007
2,840 Posts
Welcome to RC Groups Lardie! Just mill around the forums and you'll find what you're looking for. A lot of the slope guys scratch build their own stuff so you may want to check there.

Don
dwells is offline Find More Posts by dwells
Old Jul 25, 2008, 03:43 PM
Joined Jan 2003
6,920 Posts
Check out the "Jart" thread over in the slope forum. It's amazing what you can do with a few slabs of blue foam.
slopemeno is offline Find More Posts by slopemeno
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Goat Rock Threads
Old Jul 25, 2008, 04:38 PM
AMA 353531
United States, CO, Colorado Springs
Joined Aug 2003
6,547 Posts
There are lots of good flying wood kits that aren't very expensive.

It's the big glass slippers that hurt your wallett.
rdeis is offline Find More Posts by rdeis
Old Jul 26, 2008, 01:53 AM
Joined Jul 2008
2 Posts
Thanks

Thanks for the guidance guys - I'll go check it all out
Lardie is offline Find More Posts by Lardie