HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jul 09, 2013, 12:10 AM
Shrewsbury, Shropshire.
Joined Mar 2008
917 Posts
Build Log
Ken McDonough's BE2e

I am going to participate in a light-hearted competition organised by the vintage and old timer section. I stand no chance of winning it as I'm a very indifferent builder and my models, even if they sart out in pristine condition, soon end up looking pretty second hand! This is a scale model of a British WW1 artillery observation aeroplane and the particular aircraft which I will be modelling was shot down on 29th April 1917 by Baron Manfred von Richtofen. It had been on the squadron strength for more than four months by then so I suppose it might have looked a little the worse for wear by then, so I could end up with something which looks pretty realistic! It was piloted by a man with the same name as me, so call me narcisisitic but...I'm already building a 1/6 scale version which was published too late for inclusion in this competition!

Instead of getting on with working on my house or garden prior to sale and probable emigration, I spent a couple of hours building the fuselage sides out of 1/8" balsa. I was surprised at how quickly it went together. I've only built one model smaller than a Junior 60 in the last thirty years so working with such small cross-sections is a novelty. The model will not be very detailed at this scale and I haven't made a decision as to whether I'll use my Mills 75 or power it with an electric motor. I've also not yet decided on whether to fit working ailerons. I like ailerons as they give you the opportunity to pick up a wing on the landing approach but they will be a bit fiddly at this scale. Finally I haven't decided on what to use for dummy rigging wires. Shirring elastic is alright but soon stretches. I was thinking of using nylon fishing line.