HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 11, 2012, 09:57 PM
Seattle, WA - USA
mark_q's Avatar
Joined Sep 2003
3,026 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_beeson View Post
TJ,

I use subtrims to center the stick in assistant.

If you then change the subtrims again after you have successfully centered them in the assistant, then you will undo what you have achieved.

So your first instinct was right.
I've not had to use trim or sub-trim on either my DX7 or my ER9x, simply calibration in Naza Assistant has nailed it everytime. One thing I have noticed on the ER9x, adding Expo will affect centering. I found this out while adding 75% expo to the throttle to soften the center and make the green area wider. This worked well, but I didn't like the way it flew so I put 50% throttle on the T switch instead and got rid of the expo. So, I would suggest no expo, no dual rate, no trim and no sub trim before calibration then see what happens .
mark_q is offline Find More Posts by mark_q
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: PopWing 1300 FPV Wing
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 11, 2012, 10:04 PM
FPV junkie
m_beeson's Avatar
United States, UT
Joined Jan 2011
3,315 Posts
If I used the 2.4 futaba receiver, then I'd probably be in the same boat,

but I think chainlink is not as stable.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_q View Post
I've not had to use trim or sub-trim on either my DX7 or my ER9x, simply calibration in Naza Assistant has nailed it everytime. One thing I have noticed on the ER9x, adding Expo will affect centering. I found this out while adding 75% expo to the throttle to soften the center and make the green area wider. This worked well, but I didn't like the way it flew so I put 50% throttle on the T switch instead and got rid of the expo. So, I would suggest no expo, no dual rate, no trim and no sub trim before calibration then see what happens .
m_beeson is offline Find More Posts by m_beeson
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2012, 11:38 PM
Member #1
Teamsherman's Avatar
Australia, NSW, Picnic Point
Joined Aug 2011
6,243 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by windfou View Post
ok could you buy me dx8 ? my frysky module is more advance then a dx8 and why naza can even make working ? i build multirorotors since 2 years and i been using , fh-x46,kk board ,FF borard,hoverflypro , and never have any problem ,
why pay 400$ + another 400$ tx to make running this system lol!
If you are so good at it all why ask the questions then Einstein?
Teamsherman is offline Find More Posts by Teamsherman
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 05:26 PM
multi rotors,foamies,car lover
windfou's Avatar
Joined Dec 2008
1,428 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teamsherman View Post
If you are so good at it all why ask the questions then Einstein?
lol i am not Einstein, but i found my problem i just need to flash the d8r-II with the d8r-xp firmware to get the cppm you see maybe sometime it worth to ask and search and learn instead following the easier way because it the part of the hobby and also you maybe more rich then me also so you don't care to spend money for fun i am very happy for you
windfou is offline Find More Posts by windfou
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 05:46 PM
Member #1
Teamsherman's Avatar
Australia, NSW, Picnic Point
Joined Aug 2011
6,243 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by windfou View Post
lol i am not Einstein, but i found my problem i just need to flash the d8r-II with the d8r-xp firmware to get the cppm you see maybe sometime it worth to ask and search and learn instead following the easier way because it the part of the hobby and also you maybe more rich then me also so you don't care to spend money for fun i am very happy for you
Cheers mate.
Teamsherman is offline Find More Posts by Teamsherman
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 05:52 PM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2008
32 Posts
Did you Flash the 27ms fw or the regular one? The 27ms fw works better for me
P  is offline Find More Posts by P
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 09:52 PM
multi rotors,foamies,car lover
windfou's Avatar
Joined Dec 2008
1,428 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by P View Post
Did you Flash the 27ms fw or the regular one? The 27ms fw works better for me
the 27mfw seem better for multirotor , but if you want to avoid the problem with out any firmware to flashing just buy the d8r-xp and use the jumper 3-4 s o you can use the cppm signal c chek at hobbyking website , i just ordered one just in case the i have problem with the firmware again

cheers !
windfou is offline Find More Posts by windfou
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 01:45 PM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2008
32 Posts
Yes, but you can't use 8ch in cppm on the standard d8r-xp either because of the 18ms period time.
FrSky's newer recievers have a 20ms period time out of the box
P  is offline Find More Posts by P
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 10:55 PM
Registered User
Orlando, FL
Joined Oct 2004
421 Posts
If you have Throttle ONLY Failsafe capability for NAZA!..

Hey this may have come up here already but I wanted to share this link with those who have throttle only failsafe and want to use RTH in case of a loss of radio link.
A guy (locks) in helifreak posted a very detailed instruction on how to do this.

I happened to have the same Rx (R617FS). I followed his steps and it is working perfectly. If you do not have Futaba system, I am pretty sure it will work for you as well. It could be different brand Tx/Rx but the logic should be the same...

http://www.helifreak.com/showthread.php?p=4440296

P.S. He used two 2-way switches to setup IOC function. I think it is because his radio 7C doesn't have an available 3-way switch.
In my radio (10C), I used a single 3-way switch for the IOC function as (0-IOC off, 1-Course Lock, 2-Home Lock). No need to use 2 separate switches if you have an open 3-way switch.
iskoos is offline Find More Posts by iskoos
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 02:28 AM
Registered Crasher
somewhere in the middle of nowhere
Joined Apr 2005
73 Posts
I am wondering if someone can help me with my Naza and RTH. I have searched a bunch of pages and can't find an answer.

I set my transmitter switch to have three modes: manual, GPS, and RTH. As well as that, I have it set to RTH when the radio is shut off.
I was test flying the quad in GPS mode and it was perfectly stable. I decided to go about 30 some feet away and switch to RTH. Once in RTH, the light flashed fast orange. It hovered for a few seconds, and started to climb. At that point I returned the switch to GPS, and the light went back to it's normal green flash. The problem is that it continued to climb. It climbed to about tree top level, started flying backwards, and then descended into the trees behind me. The whole time I was switching between manual and GPS trying to regain control. Despite the LED telling me I had control, it continued to do it's own thing.
As of now the quad is outside my house still not responding, up side down buzzing away full throttle with broken props while in that tree.

Any idea's on this, perhaps a software bug?

Thank you for reading and any help.
Will
RC_Kid is offline Find More Posts by RC_Kid
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 05:39 AM
I never finish anyth
United States, TX, Houston
Joined Jan 2012
2,585 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RC_Kid View Post
I am wondering if someone can help me with my Naza and RTH. I have searched a bunch of pages and can't find an answer.

I set my transmitter switch to have three modes: manual, GPS, and RTH. As well as that, I have it set to RTH when the radio is shut off.
I was test flying the quad in GPS mode and it was perfectly stable. I decided to go about 30 some feet away and switch to RTH. Once in RTH, the light flashed fast orange. It hovered for a few seconds, and started to climb. At that point I returned the switch to GPS, and the light went back to it's normal green flash. The problem is that it continued to climb. It climbed to about tree top level, started flying backwards, and then descended into the trees behind me. The whole time I was switching between manual and GPS trying to regain control. Despite the LED telling me I had control, it continued to do it's own thing.
As of now the quad is outside my house still not responding, up side down buzzing away full throttle with broken props while in that tree.

Any idea's on this, perhaps a software bug?

Thank you for reading and any help.
Will
What TX are you using? If you turned off your TX to "test failsafe" your tx and rx probably didn't start talking after you turned it back on so the Naza stayed in failsafe.

BTW... why are you in here posting while your quad is out in a tree ruining a battery? Get out there and take care of your business and THEN post questions.
MCrites is offline Find More Posts by MCrites
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 06:53 AM
Registered User
Spain
Joined Sep 2008
28 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RC_Kid View Post
I am wondering if someone can help me with my Naza and RTH. I have searched a bunch of pages and can't find an answer.

I set my transmitter switch to have three modes: manual, GPS, and RTH. As well as that, I have it set to RTH when the radio is shut off.
I was test flying the quad in GPS mode and it was perfectly stable. I decided to go about 30 some feet away and switch to RTH. Once in RTH, the light flashed fast orange. It hovered for a few seconds, and started to climb. At that point I returned the switch to GPS, and the light went back to it's normal green flash. The problem is that it continued to climb. It climbed to about tree top level, started flying backwards, and then descended into the trees behind me. The whole time I was switching between manual and GPS trying to regain control. Despite the LED telling me I had control, it continued to do it's own thing.
As of now the quad is outside my house still not responding, up side down buzzing away full throttle with broken props while in that tree.

Any idea's on this, perhaps a software bug?

Thank you for reading and any help.
Will
Just a comment about that... I have definitively lost my Quadcopter due to Naza-RTH. I connected to try it (as other days), with all satelites kept and it started to fly up and then turn to the left and went out of my sight.

As you say, I tryed to switch between all modes, even turning off the trasmitter and nothing... I lost it.

The last day I had flown in the same place and tryed the RTH (so no other "home" had been recorded in the naza). I saw how 600 USD flew away...
Oxigeno is offline Find More Posts by Oxigeno
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 07:15 AM
DJI and Empire Support
T J Gilbert's Avatar
United States, MS, Ridgeland
Joined Feb 2009
4,218 Posts
Heli Programming

Quote:
Originally Posted by iskoos View Post
Hey this may have come up here already but I wanted to share this link with those who have throttle only failsafe and want to use RTH in case of a loss of radio link.
A guy (locks) in helifreak posted a very detailed instruction on how to do this.

I happened to have the same Rx (R617FS). I followed his steps and it is working perfectly. If you do not have Futaba system, I am pretty sure it will work for you as well. It could be different brand Tx/Rx but the logic should be the same...

http://www.helifreak.com/showthread.php?p=4440296

P.S. He used two 2-way switches to setup IOC function. I think it is because his radio 7C doesn't have an available 3-way switch.
In my radio (10C), I used a single 3-way switch for the IOC function as (0-IOC off, 1-Course Lock, 2-Home Lock). No need to use 2 separate switches if you have an open 3-way switch.
The above link talks about using the "Idle Up" switch for FM and the "Throttle Hold" switch for Failsafe.
That's your standard Naza programmed in heli mode configuration.
I've been flying Naza that way since I started (almost a year).
BTW it works great!
How to is at my blog...
T J Gilbert is offline Find More Posts by T J Gilbert
Site Sponsor
Last edited by T J Gilbert; Nov 15, 2012 at 11:23 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 07:41 AM
Registered User
United States, HI, Honolulu
Joined Mar 2008
145 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oxigeno View Post
Just a comment about that... I have definitively lost my Quadcopter due to Naza-RTH. I connected to try it (as other days), with all satelites kept and it started to fly up and then turn to the left and went out of my sight.

As you say, I tryed to switch between all modes, even turning off the trasmitter and nothing... I lost it.

The last day I had flown in the same place and tryed the RTH (so no other "home" had been recorded in the naza). I saw how 600 USD flew away...
I've noticed this problem and I'm leaning towards it being a Naza problem rather than a Tx problem. 1st off, when switched into the RTH mode your craft is SUPPOSED to climb. This is so that if there were any obstacles in the way it avoids them on the way back. Switching back isn't wise at this point. As far as regaining control, it would seem that there are three conditions that must be met to cause this. IF in a GPS mode, and IF put into failsafe (RTH) mode and IF not brought OUT of a GPS mode, your craft will fly away. I've seen this begin to happen with my rig.

The only way out of failsafe (RTH) mode is to turn off the failsafe mode, take out out of a GPS dependent mode (switch off to ATTI or Manual) and then RE-ENGAGE GPS Hold mode. In other words, you have to break the GPS link and then turn it back on for you to regain control.
h00t is offline Find More Posts by h00t
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 08:03 AM
DJI and Empire Support
T J Gilbert's Avatar
United States, MS, Ridgeland
Joined Feb 2009
4,218 Posts
Playing With RTH

Many of us have seen/experienced peculiar behavior when "playing" with RTH.
That's why many of us quit playing with it.
I am comfortable that if I get in trouble, switch on Failsafe, and hold my breath, something positive will most likely happen.
If RTH gets the airframe back to where I can see it well enough to resume flight, I'll be happy.
In the meantime, I choose to hone my Naza flying skills and depend on them as my "tried and true" Failsafe.
The last time I switched on Failsafe was when it resulted in my June crash.
And I don't recommend and have never turned off a correctly functioning transmitter. (Sorry, but that's Russian Roulette!)
T J Gilbert is offline Find More Posts by T J Gilbert
Site Sponsor
Latest blog entry: P2V High Aerials
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product GAUI 500x/ GU-INS GPS Owners Thread - Tips, Problems And Experiences sap_2000 Multirotor Talk 219 Nov 16, 2013 05:12 AM
Discussion HoverFly Owners Thread: Pro, GPS, Sport, Gimbal and news Adidas4275 Multirotor Talk 195 Sep 06, 2012 04:45 PM
Found DJI NAZA GPS Upgrade Module for the DJI Naza Flight Controller skyhulk Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 10 Jul 20, 2012 08:47 PM
Question Question for Spektrum DX8/HF GPS owners Wayno Complaino Hoverfly Technologies 13 Jan 01, 2012 01:18 PM
Discussion Gps owner videos jginsandiego Hoverfly Technologies 0 Oct 04, 2011 05:01 PM