HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 07, 2002, 09:58 PM
Registered User
North Carolina
Joined Jan 2002
62 Posts
Radio Question

I just bought a first radio which is a Hitech 5 channel.

I haven't even built one plane yet, but I did check the radio out to see if everything was working.

I followed all the directions and hooked up all the servos. They all go back and forth except for the one for the elevator channel. That one seems to just go one way. In other words, when you move the control in one direction, you get pretty good throw. But when you move the control in the other direction, not much wiggles on the servo.

I switched the servo motors on the receiver and every time, it is the elevator channel that is half dead. I zeroed out the trims.

Is the new radio defective?

Thanks for your help.

Michael
goofeyfoot is offline Find More Posts by goofeyfoot
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 08, 2002, 12:15 AM
Single-task at best...
tim hooper's Avatar
Telford, UK
Joined Feb 2000
7,509 Posts
Michael,

Is there any chance of substituting the receiver with a borrowed one, and trying it again?

tim
tim hooper is offline Find More Posts by tim hooper
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 08, 2002, 12:29 AM
high-speed freak
opualuan's Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Sep 2001
3,863 Posts
I don't know much about hitec radios (is this a flash 5?), but is it possible there is a travel switch set wrong? I know when I had a defective jr radio servos would do strange things (little travel in one direction, servo jitter at the end of travel in the other).
opualuan is offline Find More Posts by opualuan
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 08, 2002, 01:44 AM
Purple power
gregg f's Avatar
shadow hills,ca
Joined Apr 2000
6,594 Posts
michael:
go to "epa", channel #2, and check that the percentage is the same when you move the stick up then down. example up=100%/down=100%. if you change the epa, you must change it in both directions.
if the radio is new and you haven't done any programing, then it sounds like a defect..................gregg
gregg f is offline Find More Posts by gregg f
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 08, 2002, 06:32 PM
Registered User
Norfolk, England
Joined Sep 2001
7,796 Posts
Hi,
I know this may sound silly, but you dont have your elevator servo plugged into the throttle socket do you. I have a feeling that on Hitec gear the throttle servo is in the socket number three, which would in fact be elevator on most other sets.

Just a thought
Pete
PETERRAKE is online now Find More Posts by PETERRAKE
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 09, 2002, 04:02 AM
T-52 over Seattle
Silver's Avatar
Seattle
Joined Jun 2001
267 Posts
Michael,

The phrase you want to memorize is "Always Easy To Remember".

Channel 1 = A = Aileron
Channel 2 = E = Elevator
Channel 3 = T = Throttle
Channel 4 = R = Rudder

If your plane doesn't have ailerons, channel 1 is used for the rudder instead. The throttle channel should only move one direction from its resting position. Check the manual for the channel numbers. Connecting the wrong servo to a channel makes a plane very hard to control. (Don't ask me how I know. )


Silver
Silver is offline Find More Posts by Silver
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 09, 2002, 07:03 AM
Registered User
North Carolina
Joined Jan 2002
62 Posts
Greg F's solution turned out to be the correct one. I had set the "EPA" on one side, instead of both. Thanks for the responses everyone.

Michael
goofeyfoot is offline Find More Posts by goofeyfoot
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Radio question TerryJW Power Systems 1 Jan 06, 2002 03:43 PM
Help! Radio Question - Help Buffett323 Parkflyers 9 Dec 10, 2001 07:48 PM
Old radio question dano287 Beginner Training Area (Aircraft-Electric) 2 Sep 21, 2001 03:52 PM
RADIO QUESTION.... GUAIO/USA Foamies (Kits) 1 Jun 16, 2001 03:02 PM
Heli Radio Question? airwolf Electric Heli Talk 16 Jun 11, 2001 05:46 PM