HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 23, 2012, 01:21 PM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2011
5 Posts
Discussion
Building a pure toggle switch transmitter

I'm a mechanical engineer III with a certificate in idiot as far as electrical designs go. I have a complicated RC aircraft that has the need for not only a flight control radio system, but also the need for a separate dedicated remote system that is comprised purely of toggle switches. Since I need to build at least 4 of these, buying a bunch of Futaba 18ch radios just isn't in the budget, nor is it practical, or sensible. Does anyone have any suggestions, designs, how-tos, etc ? Id prefer to be able to link up the "switch-board" to an off-the shelf transmitter receiver, but I'm open to any suggestion. Thanks for any help.
OVLegend106 is offline Find More Posts by OVLegend106
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 23, 2012, 03:34 PM
Oxford Panic
AndyOne's Avatar
United Kingdom, Oxford
Joined Feb 2003
3,654 Posts
OVL

The tank guys seem to be able to do a lot with very few channels, I suggest you have a look at what they do.

A.
AndyOne is offline Find More Posts by AndyOne
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 06:14 PM
Registered User
Canada, ON, Mulmur
Joined Dec 2010
254 Posts
You could look at the SKY9x project.

Here is what the prototype looks like
http://9xforums.com/forum/viewtopic....tart=90#p25305

There is a co-processor , that can support another 12 inputs.
since the software is Open source , it could be modified to fit your needs.

It is designed to fit the 9x radio from Flysky , but could be put into a custom
case if needed

-Brent
SkyNorth is online now Find More Posts by SkyNorth
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 02:15 AM
Registered User
UK
Joined Aug 2000
1,082 Posts
Hi. What range is needed for switch-based system?
David.
David T is offline Find More Posts by David T
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 04:44 AM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2012
3 Posts
I dont know what speed you need, but what about using a pair of arduinos and multiplexing the data over two channels?

Eg, use one channel for the switch number and the other channel for on/off. The arduino on the Tx side can cycle through the channels and the Arduino on the reciever can demultiplex them.

If your radio lets you mix from the trainer channels then you can make up a simple switch board and then just plug it in.
angryfeet is offline Find More Posts by angryfeet
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 08:19 AM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2011
5 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by David T View Post
Hi. What range is needed for switch-based system?
David.
No more than 2-3 miles
OVLegend106 is offline Find More Posts by OVLegend106
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 08:19 AM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2011
5 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyOne View Post
OVL

The tank guys seem to be able to do a lot with very few channels, I suggest you have a look at what they do.

A.
Thanks for the pointer
OVLegend106 is offline Find More Posts by OVLegend106
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 08:20 AM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2011
5 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkyNorth View Post
You could look at the SKY9x project.

Here is what the prototype looks like
http://9xforums.com/forum/viewtopic....tart=90#p25305

There is a co-processor , that can support another 12 inputs.
since the software is Open source , it could be modified to fit your needs.

It is designed to fit the 9x radio from Flysky , but could be put into a custom
case if needed

-Brent
Thanks Brent, I'll start researching
OVLegend106 is offline Find More Posts by OVLegend106
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 08:23 AM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2011
5 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by angryfeet View Post
I dont know what speed you need, but what about using a pair of arduinos and multiplexing the data over two channels?

Eg, use one channel for the switch number and the other channel for on/off. The arduino on the Tx side can cycle through the channels and the Arduino on the reciever can demultiplex them.

If your radio lets you mix from the trainer channels then you can make up a simple switch board and then just plug it in.
I thought about using Labview as the software to control these systems, which are then fed to a transmitter. Labview would dedicate certain "go-codes" to certain channels and would control it that way. I don't know how involved that will be since my EE colleague will be the one designing the system in Labview.
That being said, i will check out your suggestion. Theres always more than 1 way to do something, perhaps your suggestion will be less complicated.
OVLegend106 is offline Find More Posts by OVLegend106
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2012, 08:48 AM
Who let the dogs out?
phil_g's Avatar
Pontefract, Yorkshire, UK
Joined Jul 2007
1,069 Posts
Reeds transmitters are just toggle switches:

Junior 60 maiden flight with 2.4ghz Reeds Emulation radio (12 min 5 sec)




details: http://www.singlechannel.co.uk
Cheers
Phil
phil_g is online now Find More Posts by phil_g
Last edited by phil_g; Oct 29, 2012 at 09:02 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2012, 03:00 AM
Registered Adict
tignmeg's Avatar
Australia, WA, Drummond Cove
Joined Jun 2012
383 Posts
Why not just use one or two of these?
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dproduct=12615
tignmeg is offline Find More Posts by tignmeg
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 04, 2012, 03:40 AM
I think I'm inverted. Maybe.
acetech09's Avatar
United States, CA, Pacifica
Joined Apr 2012
1,507 Posts
He wants a Tx with nothing but toggle switches, maybe a light control or something similar to that. You probably could do well building your own with a FrSky DIY kit and a bunch 'o switches.
acetech09 is offline Find More Posts by acetech09
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 04:48 AM
Registered User
MoFl's Avatar
Espaņa, AL, Sevilla
Joined Apr 2007
515 Posts
Maybe this gadget can help:
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1576877
MoFl is offline Find More Posts by MoFl
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2012, 03:50 PM
Registered User
Epitaph's Avatar
Joined Oct 2012
67 Posts
you could always go the more expensive route and use the channel multiplexer system they designed for the F series Robbe-Futabas...

http://www.westbourne-model.co.uk/ac...es_Radios.html
Epitaph is online now Find More Posts by Epitaph
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Manipulating a Transmitter's toggle switch tone_tbm Radios 2 Mar 27, 2012 07:35 AM
Question Can I replace the trainer toggle switch with a DPDT toggle switch in a Futaba EX6AP? shawn595 Radios 2 Jan 01, 2011 04:50 PM
Discussion Transmitter Toggle Switch Help nieb15 Micro Helis 4 Dec 20, 2007 10:00 PM
Wanted Toggle switch for JR transmitter djensen Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 2 Feb 03, 2007 05:49 PM
Discussion Toggle switch on BCX2 Transmitter purpose?? mcf34 Coaxial Helicopters 1 Jan 04, 2007 01:46 AM